Coffee Express

Coffee Express

1156 E Grand Ave
Arroyo Grande CA 93420
805-202-6087

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 19, 2020 by Somya Chauhan

    Super friendly staff but Americano was not worth it. The outside dining area is unique.

  • Oct 28, 2020 by Richard Gott

    Friendly staff.Great snacks. My favourite coffee stop.Has shaded tables. Fenced yard for kids an dogs

  • Sep 01, 2020 by Poppa Black

    Such sweet folks there. And the puppies love them.

  • Aug 29, 2020 by Seraya Kimbrough

    Please update hours drove clear over just to find out your closed

  • Aug 16, 2020 by Leah Santa Cruz

    One of many lovely local coffee places. The owner is the absolute sweetest lady you'll ever have the pleasure of meeting. She goes out of her way to make sure your experience and orders at Coffee Express are perfect. I love that Old West cinnamon rolls are offered here as well, as it's a lot more convenient than having to go to Pismo Beach for them. Try the monkey mocha: it's blended with real banana. I'm not even that big of a banana person, but it's incredibly delicious!

  • Aug 03, 2020 by In2it 2017

    Love this place!! And I love Carmen the owner, she is so, so, sweet!!!

  • Jul 21, 2020 by fernando rodriguez

    Very good customer service very good coffee large selection very tasty

  • Jul 15, 2020 by Krystie Whitney

    Love the service, food and coffee delicious

  • Dec 04, 2019 by Rita Blackburn

    The bacon wrap was amazing!! Great for bacon lovers.

  • Dec 02, 2019 by R. Kesselring

    Just one block over from the corporate Starbucks, this locally owned hidden gem is less expensive and has better tasting coffee, a better selection of sandwiches and pastries, and a much quicker drive-thru. Not to mention the employees don't look like they wanna die. I have seen some truly rude customers at Starbucks, and the employees there look like zombies. Coffee Express is much more homey experience. My barista (I believe her name was Destiny) was super friendly and welcoming. The owner is also very pleasant. They have lots of dietary options. They sell Old West cinnamon rolls which is a game-changer. There's a big outdoor area with a playground so if you have kids, that's a huge plus.

    Some downsides: no indoor seating area if it's cold, no outlets for laptops if you're looking for a place to get some work done, no reusable "for here" mugs.

    With so many options for coffee shops around here, this spot is definitely in my top 3.

  • Sep 21, 2019 by Victoria Curzon

    Carmen, the owner always treats me like her favorite customer ever. Today their having a huge sale - Local artisans, Beautiful jewelry, soaps, plants in gorgeous planters, and more!!!

  • Aug 27, 2019 by Krystiana J.

    By far, THE BEST coffee shop. Literally, I've had the best experience! Excellent service and amazing food! I'd much rather drive 16 minutes to come here rather than a 2 minute drive to Starbucks. The people that work here are just so sweet

  • Jul 30, 2019 by Julie Miller

    They had a yummy GF muffin option and almond milk for my coffee. Super nice and fast. Thanks!!!

  • Jul 26, 2019 by Erin C.

    Carmen makes this adorable little shop feel like home! She is the kindest, most pleasant person to interact with and she treats every customer as if they're family. I go in just to see her, even though the drinks are super duper too! Banana smoothies are delicious!!! Fresh bananas right there picked up and put in the blender before your eyes. There is no Tom foolery here. Genuine and delightful!

  • Jun 24, 2019 by Anna L.

    Creamy, nutty espresso... exactly what I was looking for in espresso in the area! The croissant bacon breakfast sandwich was so delicious I barely took a breath. They serve it with a side of hot sauce as well which is amazing. Staff was so catering to my specifics and genuinely cared about me as a customer. Well done! I will be back. Thank you for the awesome experience. Such a great start to my day!

  • Jun 14, 2019 by Steven Elliott

    Great breakfast food and lovely staff

  • Jun 14, 2019 by Steven Elliott

    Great breakfast food and lovely staff

  • Jun 10, 2019 by joy sumida

    ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO BE HERE..OWNER CARMEN GREETS EVERY GUEST WITH WARMTH..SMOOTHIES AND COFFEES EXCEPTIONAL.

  • Jun 10, 2019 by D H.

    Carmen is the best!! The food and drinks are always special, with that personal homemade touch. There is a back play/lounge area with tables and chairs. But Carmen is the star of the show here. Her little gas-station-turned-cafe is perfect. Serene, peaceful, delicious coffees and the wraps are fresh! We come here every hear on our way into Avila Beach. You should make it a point to stop by!

  • Mar 28, 2019 by Aurore-Cecile V.

    Very good cappuccino ad Chai blaster. Lovely service. If I'd lived here I would come every morning just for the warmth of the bartender.

  • Feb 06, 2019 by Richard Lovato

    Good coffee and great company.

  • Jan 25, 2019 by Suyona Y.

    Great coffee,comfortable surrounding,&fantastic service!i may have found my new favorite coffee spot!

  • Dec 06, 2018 by Laura

    My favorite coffee shop...wonderful customer service. I love the protein and fiber breakfast wrap!

  • Sep 07, 2018 by Fausto Rowlan

    The wraps and scones are delicious. The service was very friendly. The gas station bell was a nice touch.

  • Sep 07, 2018 by Amanda E.

    I love this place! Great coffee and the wraps are delicious. Always friendly and great service. It's my go to spot for coffee and breakfast!

  • Sep 05, 2018 by A Google User

    Great coffee and breakfast wraps in a kid/dog friendly environment. You won't deal with friendlier people no matter where your go. Customer service is an A+. Our family frequents this place several times a week and we have never had a bad experience.

  • Sep 01, 2018 by Vanessa D.

    This place is cute. I like the layout of it even though it might be a bit small. They operate a drive thru where you can get coffee, pastries, and wraps and sandwiches. On one side when you enter you have the coffee bar and barista, and on the other side you have the pastries and wrap maker. It's a small little place but they have a huge backyard with tables and chairs and things for kids to play with. I got the power wrap, which had egg, feta cheese, spinach, and black beans. Avocado was optional but I had it without it. It was okay. Honestly, the wrap was really thin. It was only $4 which was a good price, but there were only like 20 black beans in it and the egg was really sparse. There was more tortilla than filling. I also got a vanilla chai and that was really good, but a little sweet. My sister got the croissant with sausage, egg, and cheese. I would go back to get more coffee (it's pretty good) and try some of their pastries or even another wrap. They had old west cinnamon roles, scones, muffins, and cupcakes.

  • Aug 29, 2018 by Babs Aquino

    Great place for coffee, tea, and delicious food. And having a play area for kids is fabulous.

  • Aug 21, 2018 by Fausto Rowlan

    The wraps and scones are delicious. The service was very friendly. The gas station bell wwas a nice touch.

  • Aug 19, 2018 by Ron Reilly

    Excellent wraps and coffee / espresso. Drive thru is excellent. Servers are great.

  • Aug 09, 2018 by Anthony D.

    I will be talking about two things here;  service and the drinks. The service is absolutely fantastic. They will brings drinks to you, call you by your name, engage with you, and smile. Genuinely smile. You cannot get this anywhere else. The drinks are also superb! Freshness in every sip. Thank you so much!

  • Aug 05, 2018 by McKenna B.

    My favorite place  the owner is the sweetest lady on this planet & the employees are the absolute best! Everyone is so sweet & happy all the time! My go to coffee spot for sure! They'll make anything you want exactly how you want it

  • Jul 31, 2018 by Kris H.

    The best lil coffee spot!!  Great coffee, amazing food, and amazing people!!! So friendly. This place is a must!! Also prices are more than reasonable and portions are great!! Much love from Arizona

  • Jul 26, 2018 by Kennedy Agron

    The service here is super great and the people are so kind.

  • Jul 26, 2018 by Tina T.

    Very cute little place! The coffee and food was very good. We had the breakfast wraps and the orange scone. We also had one of the cinnamon rolls. Delicious! The seating is out back in a cute yard area that had plenty of space for my children to run around. Definitely would recommend if you have children that need to have a place to roam while you enjoy your coffee. Service was excellent as well.

  • Jun 18, 2018 by El Z.

    I truly cannot imagine liking a cafe more than this. This place is prefect. The people who work here are wonderful, the coffee and food are great, they have a great big fenced outdoor area with flowers and toys and butterflies and chairs and tables and sunshine. We live 200 miles away but vacation in the area and always look forward to time at Coffee Express. The best of the best.

  • Jun 15, 2018 by Iris Hernandez

    Don't pass this place up! Its awesome sauce! AND the people here are soooo lovely and kind... The ice tea is delicioso YUMMYY

  • Jun 14, 2018 by Lauren P.

    I stopped in Coffee Express looking for a quick tasty bite during a break in a road trip I was taking with my boyfriend. The menu had lots of options. What stood out the most other than the freshness of the food was the service. Both of the individuals working the day we came in were super kind and helpful. I have a lot of dietary limitations and it can make eating out a pain- they were very accommodating and made me a customized breakfast sandwich on the spot. My boyfriend said the coffee was very good and he enjoyed his breakfast croissant. The food was served just out and hot- you could taste the freshness of the ingredients. The cook who tailored my sandwich special for my diet even brought us each a little side of sliced strawberries with our food. I loved the hot sauce the cook included on the side of my food- he definitely had a creative culinary flare which did not go unnoticed. Both employees called us by our names and made sure we had everything we needed. The yard where we sat outside to eat was pretty and relaxed. I loved the casual attitude of it all. I was feeling pretty stressed when we got there as I was worried I wouldn't find anything I could eat- but thanks to the kindness of the people working at Coffee Express I was able to enjoy a delicious breakfast and relax. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and I would definitely recommend stopping by anytime you are in the area.

  • May 21, 2018 by Sue A.

    Have wanted to check this place out when I come up to CC. Love it! Really cute and very convenient! They carry old west cinnamon rolls! Heck ya! I love the Detroit e through option.

  • May 12, 2018 by McKenna G.

    What an awesome place to take the kiddos! The owners/employees are so nice and the coffee is great! Love this place so much and will definitely be back often! :)

  • Mar 31, 2018 by Robert Olson

    Carmen and her employees are what makes this place so special. Having a bad day? Drop by for food or drink and I guarantee you'll go away feeling happier.

  • Mar 31, 2018 by Jennifer S.

    Super cute vintage gas station turned into a bistro! Carmen and her staff were so charming and really went all out make our experience pleasant. I absolutely Loved the spiced chai blast, their breakfast croissant was amazing and my husband and I enjoyed their original cinnamon roll drizzled with a creamy yummy glaze. Two thumbs up!!! Loved the garden patio out back, was so peaceful and relaxing to enjoy our brunch.

  • Mar 13, 2018 by Erika C.

    Amazing coffee, food and the friendliest service we have ever received at a coffee cart. Thank you, Coffee Express for making the beginning of our day wonderful!

  • Feb 28, 2018 by Alissa A.

    During our recent trip to Pismo Beach area, I wanted to try a different place for coffee and went to this place as it had good reviews. It was close to Frutiland La Casa Del Sabor tacos place that we had tried and liked the evening before. It is small cute place with space to sit outside and also on the back. They have little play area for the kids. We weren't sure about food but ordered coffee drinks and cinnamon roll. Coffee was really good and so was the cinnamon roll. Service was very friendly. Kids enjoyed the outdoor space in the back. Wish I knew about this place earlier so we could come here everyday during our trip.

  • Feb 21, 2018 by Tucker H.

    Out door seating area. Free wifi. The bacon croissant was good. cinnamon roll one of the best I have had. And lastly the brewed coffee is dark and delicious. The two ladies working we very friendly and helpful. 5 stars.

  • Feb 11, 2018 by Alexa D.

    Coffee was very good. I had a latte and the quality was one of the better ones I have had. Nice local atmosphere, the local seem to be known by name!

  • Jan 18, 2018 by Annie Aquino

    This is an amazing place to bring the kids and relax over coffee, cocoa, and yummy food. Love it!

  • Jan 05, 2018 by TH C.

    Genuinely kind and a true style of selfless service. The Manager treated the place like his own and delivered sincere hospitality. Plus he trains BJJ! Would not only come back but recommend to all coming through Central Cali.

  • Jan 04, 2018 by Sarah P.

    I love their coffee and breakfast wraps! Perfect size and price. I always get the protein and fiber one. Also the fact that it's drive through is a definite plus for my busy mornings. They sell Old West cinnamon rolls so I don't have to go to Pismo. Yumm. And the staff is very nice. They are efficient and personable. A great business ethic!

  • Dec 26, 2017 by Linda R.

    I work next door, so when my stomach grumbles I head over to this sweet little place. It's not just a drive thru...it has a quiet and lovely back patio. The wraps are so wonderful and fresh and no grease. I feel as if i've treated myself to a very healthy lunch.  The owner and staff are the friendliest folks around...Enjoy!

  • Dec 06, 2017 by Brad O

    Had good and bad experiences here...if close to closing, the coffee is pretty much past it's prime. Just sayin'.

  • Nov 29, 2017 by Sharon Livengood

    Everything fresh and made to order. Quaint and eclectic.

  • Nov 17, 2017 by Maxine A.

    We haven't been to Starbucks since we have discovered this place. Love the coffee, the food & the service.

  • Nov 16, 2017 by Ashley H.

    The people are so nice! Offering to make anything coffee I would like. The drinks and food are super tasty. I will have to make this my regular place to eat.

  • Nov 13, 2017 by P B.

    Order the pumpkin pie chai! It's sweet but delicious. The croissant sandwiches are awesome too (they'll make them vegetarian).

  • Nov 09, 2017 by Samantha C.

    Try the chicken avocado wrap!! Stopped by for a quick blended vanilla latte. Service is fast and friendly. It appears like it's only a drive up, but there small patio area in the back where you can sit and enjoy your lunch should you wish. Coffee is smooth not sickly sweet. Worth the stop as it's a hidden gem!!

  • Oct 14, 2017 by Noy Aviv

    Great place to drink coffe, eat some delicious pastry and relax !! Really nice people :)

  • Oct 14, 2017 by Elisabeth A.

    The wraps might have been a bit small but definitely delicious! The staff is super friendly and the location in very relaxed.

  • Oct 11, 2017 by Jessica B

    This is our favorite coffee shop! My husband and I moved here about five years ago and were in search to support a local coffee shop. We met the owner, Carmen and she had the best service. Soon after, we met Tate and we never go anywhere else. They have wonderful service, great flavors (a lot of sugar free options too!), baked goods and delicious coffee! Support local shops!

  • Sep 11, 2017 by Robert M.

    What a great little coffee shop.  The owner and staff are super helpful and friendly.  A excellent way to start the day.

  • Sep 07, 2017 by Sacha B.

    Seriously the best place ever! Customer service was beyond amazing coffee and breakfast were perfect!

  • Sep 06, 2017 by Tommy Castillo

    Awesome place for coffee and breakfast wraps. Even better than that is the staff.

  • Sep 04, 2017 by Mike S.

    I had a meeting for a Timebank orientation this morning here at Coffee Express not knowing that they were closed. While waiting outside for my friend to arrive Carmen the owner was walking back to her car. I introduced my self and she offered to let me use her back patio for my meeting even though they were closed. Thank you Carmen for you hospitality!

  • Sep 01, 2017 by T K.

    Such a nice, small town business. The owner is very sweet and welcoming. They work very hard with the small staff they have. There was one time she was short staffed, because a worker was sick, but she worked extremely hard to make sure you had everything you need. They have a nice outdoor patio where kids can play and run around in the back, while you chat with your friends. I generally order the potato sausage wrap (which I add a little spinach); this is my go to breakfast item. They also have a drive thru coffee window, so you can just wait in your car. I don't remember all the pastry goodies, but the do have the cinnamon rolls from Old West Cinnamon rolls, dropped off fresh in the morning. It's just one of those place that has a friendly atmosphere, that makes you want to go back time and time again.

  • Aug 30, 2017 by Aaron Eriksson

    Old West cinnamon rolls and coffee with a little play area for the kids. Really enjoyed the place! Going back again soon.

  • Aug 26, 2017 by Cat M.

    Drive-thru coffee place with .50 refills. If that sentence isn't enough to get you, they sell big fat cinnamon rolls by the box. Here you'll find espresso, flavored lattes and smoothies. And baked goods. Beautiful, fresh baked goods. Buy the cinnamon roll!

  • Aug 10, 2017 by Gerard G

    We have been in California a week now and just happened upon this coffee shop whilst driving north. We were blown away to taste the best coffee of our trip. We bought a cinnamon roll which was so good we got a second. Thanks guys.

  • Jul 29, 2017 by Amanda J.

    What a nice little surprise this place was...I should have believed the 5 star reviews they already had, but sometimes they aren't accurate. Although they have a small menu, what they have is very good. We had a chorizo and linguisa? Wrap. Both very tasty. We also got a cinnamon roll that was killer. Dirty chai latte was on point. Although they don't have a place to sit inside, their outside seating out  back is quaint where dogs are allowed, a kids play area and quite a few tables. Flowers are scattered all around the yard, and it has a great vibe. The staff are personable and have a genuine feel. Overall, great experience for a casual breakfast. Would come back again.

  • Jul 26, 2017 by T T.

    Perfect place to get drive-thru coffee and sticky bun after camping! Love this little place! Excellent iced coffee, great customer service.

  • Jul 14, 2017 by Cyd Sebring

    GREAT service and local coffee. Santa Barbara Roasting Company is the best!

  • Jul 08, 2017 by Chris J.

    The iced coffee was fresh and amazing like every time! After many trips to this place for quick, healthy and convenient breakfast and lunch wraps I wanted to leave my first posting because of the kid friendly experience. Since our son was born 21 months ago, we haven't had one pleasant experience out to eat because he just doesn't like to sit still when at new atmospheres. But today my wife and I had the most enjoyable breakfast as we watched our son play in the gated play park in the back! What a relief! Carmen and Tate are always so personable and can cheer up anyone-any day!

  • Jul 06, 2017 by Rochelle King

    Love this place. Large, relaxing yard in the back with covered tables to sit under. Great prices and friendly staff!

  • Jul 02, 2017 by Mark P.

    This is a great coffee drive thru - the people are extremely friendly , the prices are fair and the coffee and breakfast items are always tasty . All locals should support this well run local business. I highly recommend.

  • Jun 27, 2017 by Bernadette M.

    This place is awesome! We came here on a Friday around lunch and we had the yard to ourselves with our two dogs. We shared a delicious chicken sandwich and smoothies! The service was so welcoming and sweet. We will definitely be back!

  • Jun 25, 2017 by Ben N.

    Coffee Express is a great place to go for a simple, but good, breakfast/lunch. They have an assortment of breakfast drinks, pastries, sandwiches and smoothies! What's best is they have a great enclosed backyard area that is perfect for bringing our two pups to run around. The staff is beyond nice!

  • Jun 24, 2017 by Vishi Anand

    During our recent trip to Pismo Beach area, I wanted to try a different place for coffee and went to this place as it had good reviews. It was close to Frutiland La Casa Del Sabor tacos place that we had tried and liked the evening before. It is small cute place with space to sit outside and also on the back. They have little play area for the kids. We weren't sure about food but ordered coffee drinks and cinnamon roll. Coffee was really good and so was the cinnamon roll. Service was very friendly. Kids enjoyed the outdoor space in the back. Wish I knew about this place earlier so we could come here everyday during our trip.

  • Jun 17, 2017 by Edgar C.

    The Coffee: Amazing The Wraps: Delicious The Service: Awesome I loved being just sitting in the patio and eating calmly! Definitely coming back soon! ;)

  • Jun 17, 2017 by Lukas O.

    This coffee shop provided a great atmosphere, the food was great and the coffee was superb. The people here were also super friendly. I definitely recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing place to sit and eat. Kids and dogs are very welcomed and can walk around off leash while the owners eat some delicious grub!!

  • Jun 12, 2017 by Jay J.

    My first time trying this spot, the staff was not only extremely helpful and friendly but the food and coffee was excellent.

  • Jun 07, 2017 by Tim Kraft

    Best lunch experience in AG. Good food, great drinks prepared to order and awesome people. Love this place.

  • Jun 01, 2017 by Betsy B.

    Sooooo yummy!!! Chicken salad is 10/10. Carmen is a doll. Great atmosphere and iced latte is delish.

  • May 22, 2017 by Lauren C.

    This is my favorite coffee shop! Very good coffee and food. They have vegetarian options too. Everyone there is very nice! I go every Saturday for a coffee and to sit outside (weather permitting).

  • May 21, 2017 by Lawrence Armstrong

    Great customer service that is not connected to a corporate chain.

  • Apr 15, 2017 by Scott Begneski

    Out door seating area. Free wifi. The bacon croissant was good. cinnamon roll one of the best I have had. And lastly the brewed coffee is dark and delicious. The two ladies working we very friendly and helpful. 5 stars.

  • Mar 31, 2017 by Rachael S.

    Love this place!!! Coffee is consistently good and the owner and staff are always so friendly. Would have given 5 stars but they served brown rotten avocado on my vegi wrap the other day.

  • Mar 17, 2017 by Luke L.

    Really nice place where you can drive in or sit in a nice garden at the back. Lovely customer service, real homely and would recommend over any franchised or more formal business. Support local!

  • Mar 08, 2017 by Joesph

    Great place. Friendly people.

  • Feb 27, 2017 by Kailyn C.

    this is such a cute and positive place! i came through after a really rough morning with blotchy eyes and the woman who works there obviously could tell but didn't say much about it but completely turned my morning around with her AMAZING and kind attitude. and at the end she gave me a free cinnamon roll "because i looked like someone who needed it"... it was such a kind gesture it turned everything around. i can't say enough great things about this place!!!

  • Dec 27, 2016 by maryah l.

    Love the grassy patio area. This would be the perfect place for mommy play dates. Our soyrizo wraps where so yummy. Will be coming back

  • Nov 25, 2016 by Jason J.

    This is the bomb diggiddy of coffee shops! The best breakfast burritos too! I love this place and atmosphere

  • Nov 16, 2016 by Kayleigh Machado

    They're so archive, always friendly, amazing drinks & they serve Old West Cinnamon rolls! Better than Starbucks, I love supporting local businesses!

  • Nov 16, 2016 by Christina P.

    Seriously the most heart warming business I have ever had the pleasure to encounter. Thankful for people as kind and caring as the owner and her staff is. You have done a great job making this place accommodating and comfortable for your customers! I love the food and appreciate the option to pick up and drive away when needed. Thank you again and again!

  • Nov 12, 2016 by Shruti S.

    Yummy Veggie Wrap and Mocha and very friendly staff! Will definitely be returning to try more stuff on their menu.

  • Nov 05, 2016 by Nicole S.

    Adorable homey place to stop for breakfast and brunch! Doubles as a drive through with delicious breakfast wraps (think a mixture of burritos and paninis) along with fresh baked scones and coffee! I sat in the back yard area which reminds me a lot of being in a pre-school playground in the best way possible. Food was good and reasonably priced. I would definitely come again!

  • Oct 31, 2016 by Rod S.

    This is the best place ever and Carmen is so wonderful and kind. A really special experience, great food and coffee and the best.

  • Oct 20, 2016 by Aiy_ M.

    This place is right next to where I am working now, so I'm in trouble because I'm going to want the Lemon Blueberry muffin (get it heated up) EVERY DAY.  Dangerous.  Also! I'm a mocha+coconut gal.  All the way.  All the time.  Which they have, so that is also excellent (and dangerous)  I can change it up and have 1/2 caff, or iced and the flavor is not wasted.  Still tastes like coffee, which some places can't get right.  Only bummer is they are only open until 3, and they are not open on Sundays.  I definitely recommend them.  My family (husband and 8 month twins) are doing a "Coffee Tour" where we go to different coffee places once a week.  So I cheated them out on this one, but I'll be back with them to enjoy the cute outdoor seating area.  Those little ones are going to love the grass.  What are you waiting for? Go get a coffee (and put some mocha and coconut in there, then come next door to my spa and thank me. muuaahahah)

  • Oct 19, 2016 by Breanna F.

    This is my favorite coffee spot! My friends and I try to meet for coffee every other week, and we end up here more than any other place. I love that the seating is outside, and dog/kid friendly. The sweet lady that I'm assuming is the owner is just the nicest, friendliest person, and so accommodating. Great, friendly service from the other 2 people that have taken my order as well. The coffee is good, and the food is really good. People may not think to come sit and relax in the back, because it's an "express" place out front, but you won't be sorry if you stay a while :)

  • Oct 12, 2016 by Kyle Ross

    Coffee was very good. I had a latte and the quality was one of the better ones I have had. Nice local atmosphere, the local seem to be known by name!

  • Oct 10, 2016 by Kerry DeJarnette

    They treat you like they're genuinely glad you came. Thanks Coffee Express.

  • Oct 05, 2016 by C H.

    We decided to stop here for a quick breakfast based on the yelp reviews and it certainly lived up to expectations. The scones and breakfast wraps were all delicious and everyone there was so friendly. We tried the bacon cheddar wrap and the maple and pumpkin scones. Yum! Our kids loved that there was plenty of grass for them to run around on while our food and drinks were being made and there was s kid size picnic table for them. Super cute place with great service and worth the stop.

  • Sep 23, 2016 by Kimberly W.

    Do yourself a favor and order the iced pumpkin latte from Coffee Express ... seriously the best one you will ever have. But really, everything is good, and you can't beat the owner Carmen and staff member Tate. They are top-notch people!

  • Aug 25, 2016 by Giorgia Nicholas

    They are great! The coffee is very good, the food is delicious and the staff is very kind, friendly and professional. Thanks guys!

  • Aug 16, 2016 by Busco Rodriguez

    Great service, great staff. I believe Suzanna was her name making excellent sandwiches there and providing excellent customer service .

  • Aug 11, 2016 by Melissa M.

    Came upon this place due to the fantastic yelp reviews. I've seen it on Grand before but never stopped. So glad we did. My boyfriend got a caramel frappe and I got an iced white chocolate mocha with cinnamon powder. We also decided on a breakfast wrap. Carmen added avocado which made it even more amazing! She was super sweet and kind. She even split it for us and added our own hot sauces which was a sweet touch. I highly recommend Coffee Express!

  • Aug 11, 2016 by Nina K.

    Love our local coffee shop - there is a drive thru as well as a nice area to sit outside. There is even a sandbox for my kiddo. The service is top notch and the drinks are delicious. Love their wraps as well!

  • Aug 06, 2016 by Kimberly A.

    The coffee here is great, but the owner is what keeps me coming back! She is THE sweetest lady and has THE best customer service I have ever encountered. The coffee shop is small...like standing room only, but there is a back area where you can go out and sit and let the little run around. No doubt I'll be back!

  • Jul 09, 2016 by Jim P.

    Always my first choice! Excellent service, local and personal. Sorry Starbucks.. It's all about profit for you and it's reflected in your poor food quality and air filled drinks.. Grab a red eye at Coffee express!

  • Jul 08, 2016 by Marcia M.

    Awesome place,very friendly staff,super pet friendly place.I high recommender this coffe place!!

  • Jun 15, 2016 by Chris G.

    The staff is awesome, the coffee and all the breakfast wraps are amazing, try every one! Always fast service in the drive through.

  • Jun 13, 2016 by Mikal D.

    A great place to stop in real quick and get a coffee and a snack. The customer service is amazing as well. I have been coming here for about 15 years and to see them improve is great!

  • Jun 03, 2016 by Sarah H.

    Carmen is an angel from heaven and this little place she has goin' on ROCKS!  There's a large sunny yard for lounging or catching up with a friend. I love coming in here for DELICIOUS coffee and treats. I know this is hard to believe but not every coffee shop on the planet can make a decaf latte but they definitely do here -- always delicious! :) I love a place where you walk in and they remember your name and who you are! Truly captures the feel of the community we are lucky to live in!

  • Jun 03, 2016 by Danielle B.

    As a mom of three and often on the go, I love this place for a healthy snack and coffee. They have the friendliest staff and we've become regulars so they know us when we stop by! On days when life is a little less crazy, my kids love to climb on the boat in the yard while I sip my delicious coffee and snack.

  • May 31, 2016 by Benny R.

    This place is awesome! Great road stop for coffee and a muffin. The lady was super sweet and nice great service! I loved the blueberry brand muffin and the cinnamon rolls was delicious. Great patio area for dogs and children to play and run. Lots of space and tables to enjoy your food. Definitely will be stopping on the way back to Los Angeles.

  • May 16, 2016 by Eric S.

    superior service!! above and beyond expectations.  beautiful outdoor space, great croissant sandwich, latte wasn't the best but owner worked with me to get it right given that the batch of beans she had that day was different than her usual.   Wish I lived in the area, I'd try it again... this time the service compensates to earn the 5 stars, but in the long run the coffee at a coffee shop needs to be the reason to keep coming back.

  • Apr 15, 2016 by Jackie L.

    SUCH a sweet, sweet owner and wonderful spot to grab coffee & a cinnamon roll or breakfast wrap. They have a perfect grassy area in the back with plenty of tables and space for the kiddos to play. (They even allow dogs!) Will be back for sure for a mom play date!

  • Apr 02, 2016 by Micky D.

    The nicest staff you can find. Made the visit special. That couldn't save the wrap however.  Coffee was good given the competition but they'd get licked in a larger town.

  • Mar 26, 2016 by lillanbc

    Well worth the extra mile to have a cappucino either in car or in their backyard. The service is very nice, the pastries tempting and delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Mar 02, 2016 by Ann S.

    Special desserts this week. Chocolate Fudge Muffins w cream cheese frosting, Cherry Crunch - my favorite, Zesty Lemon Bars. It's obvious from the flavor these are like home cooking with high quality ingredients.

  • Jan 23, 2016 by Justin G.

    Everyone here knows us by name. This was the first place we stopped to have coffee when we were house searching in the Five Cities. After a long ride from Merced, it was refreshing to find a Café with such charisma. Carmen, the owner, put us in touch with her realtor and helped us greatly in finding a new place. We now live about 5 minutes away. We always get a carafe of coffee and sit out on the patio on a Saturday morning with the pups. Really Zen. I also enjoy the Linguica wraps and they serve Old West Cinnamon Rolls. When you're here you're family.

  • Jan 08, 2016 by Tania A.

    Breakfast and lunch wraps, soups, salads and sandwiches are homemade from scratch by Carmen and her friendly staff especially including Tate. Wraps are a perfect size for easily holding by hand and not too much. A wonderful local spot that feels like family.

  • Jan 05, 2016 by Josiah V.

    Best coffee place if you want friendly a friendly barista. The drink took awhile to be made but it was good enough to make up the difference. It's really small inside, so only a few people can fit in at once.

  • Dec 23, 2015 by Trang N.

    The breakfast wraps & coffee are delicious. Staffs are very nice and welcoming. Highly recommended! :)

  • Dec 05, 2015 by Dawn E.

    Adorable place.  Owners and staff are delightful... Especially Sophie.  Power wrap was tasty and light.  Great coffee, little oasis

  • Nov 23, 2015 by Jose A.

    Cool little spot different from everywhere else great prices and good food super friendly staff

  • Oct 17, 2015 by Ileana A.

    My best friend and I had been traveling and camping and really needed a fresh cup of coffee. We got more than that here. First, the service was impeccable. Everyone we encountered during our two day stay, were attentive, friendly and kind.  Especially Carmen, she was so interested in what we were doing and more importantly in giving us a great cup of joe. Secondly, the coffee was perfection. I went with the DOUBLE DARK (or something like that) - mm mm mm it was a beautiful dark blend, so tasty and bold. The kicker...for a medium size it was cheaper than Starbucks and it was waaaaayyyy better than anything I've ever had at there. Since then we have not been able to find a cafe that matches this level of quality with price.

  • Oct 10, 2015 by Harout K.

    The food was not bad, but the service was amazing. Especially Sofi, who came out many times to check on us - 5-star service at a self-serve cafe.

  • Sep 12, 2015 by Michelle R.

    I read the reviews and decided that we should give it a try. But I mean 5 stars? From everyone? Really?... Well let me tell you the service was excellent! We were greeted with smiles all around and told that if there was something that we would like that we didn't find on the menu they would make it for us. And they did! And The xtra egg cheese potato avocado w/ mayo wrap was excellent!   My boyfriend had had the croissant bacon sandwich and it was so good!! We are both picky bacon ppl. And my boyfriend found himself having to defend his bacon from my consistent snatches. They have what I would call their own personal mini grass patio park. Great for kids! And they are also totally dog friendly! They brought us our breakfast and coffee out to our person park table and also brought our two dogs there own water dish. At one point we were the only ones on the patio park so they allowed us to let our dogs play on the grass in the totally enclosed patio park. We will totally be back!!

  • Aug 26, 2015 by Jamie R.

    My favorite coffee shop in the county. The people who work there are so friendly and always want to make sure you like your drink.  My favorite part is how they'll make anything you can think up...tell them what kind of drink you want and they'll make it.  This is the friendly Central Coast service that can be hard to find. Love this place! Hate that they're closed by 3pm or so daily, and closed on Sunday (which would be my favorite day to go out for coffee in the AM).

  • Aug 09, 2015 by Cindy F.

    Super cute little coffee stop/cafe. The food was really good, but best part of the experience was the awesome staff. They were very friendly and helpful and made us feel really good about stopping here. We all had various wraps and everything was delicious. The only neutral comment to come from any of our party of four was salsa was a bit too low on flavor and too high on heat. (Salsa is such a subjective thing, tho.) also this is a great place to go with small children. They can play safely while parents enjoy a leisurely meal & visit. Will definitely come back if I'm in the area!

  • Aug 07, 2015 by Ken P.

    Stopped after seeing all the reviews on Yelp. I have to say the reviews were right. Greeted by smiling faces and clean settings. Ordered the monkey mocha with banana flavoring and the power wrap. Got both quickly and was happy with quality and flavors. Went back another time and got the chorizo wrap and cappuccino.  Place was very busy but still got my order in less than ten minutes. Even grabbed a seat in their back patio while they took care of my bill and brought my change to me later.  They didn't want me to wait for the cash register to be available. All in all small local business giving great service.

  • Aug 06, 2015 by Stephen S.

    Super healthy made fresh sandwich ($6.75) and coffee ($1.75). Awesome back patio garden to enjoy your drink/food. Grabbed a fresh made sliced if coffee cake on our way way out and it was AMAZING. A great place to stop on a road trip up north to stretch legs.

  • Aug 05, 2015 by Heidi B.

    The hot chai tea latte made with coffee and vanilla spice was fantastic. We also tried their power wrap and their wrap with soy chorizo, which were both good. As far as breakfast goes, we would go elsewhere, though. The coffee was the highlight. Very friendly people, and there is a nice area in the back for enjoying coffee and/or breakfast.

  • Aug 04, 2015 by Attila M.

    Great coffee shop. Cutest drive-thru and cool grass backyard with shaded tables. Lady serving us was just the nicest. And most important, great beans for the coffee.

  • Aug 03, 2015 by Elissa H.

    Ok, so I know this place has been around for a while... Shame on me for not checking it out sooner! Seriously.... I drove up 2 minutes to closing and the woman apologised for my one-minute wait (sincerely) and was just so friendly. They still had iced coffee - try getting an iced coffee from nearly any coffee shop 2 minutes to close and someone may laugh in your face! The gentleman who handed me my iced coffee was also so genuinely nice and thanked me for my business. The coffee was ok but the service was stellar, other establishments would do well to take note.

  • Jul 30, 2015 by Megan Rose B.

    Love that they have almond milk and coconut milk as milk alternatives besides just the usual soy. The lady at the drive thru window was really nice and gave my dog 3 biscuits! I'm giving four stars because the Bear claw I purchased was not impressive. Customer service is great and my caramel latte was delicious.

  • Jul 24, 2015 by Kristi O.

    Amazing customer service! Very hard to find these days. Couldn't ask for better coffee or food. It's nice to see such friendly helpful faces so early in the morning.  They have the best coffee cake I've ever had in my life. Definitely the best place to go in the 5 cities!

  • Jul 03, 2015 by Laurie M.

    What a great find!!   Wonderful service from super nice people, delicious mocha, and yummy croissant breakfast!  Super cute venue too!  Lots of great choices for goodies to go as well.  What a wonderful way to start our day!!  Had to give up my Apple Farm pancake, but it was worth it.  We'll be back!  :)

  • Jul 01, 2015 by Kathy H.

    The coffee and food are delicious, high quality, with abundant choices.  The owner and her helper provide superb service.  They are friendly and efficient.  The yard with tables is pleasant and kid and pet friendly.  I was very impressed with everything about this delightful place!  I only wish I didn't live several hours away!  Highly recommended!!

  • Jun 12, 2015 by Mrinal C.

    Thanks to Yelp! We found this gem. It's a must go to. Good food, good service, good ambiance and good pastries to take home when done.

  • May 27, 2015 by Alyson S.

    One of my favorite places to stop for breakfast and coffee on my way to work! Not only does the delicious food and coffee make my day so does the wonderful, friendly service. I am so grateful for their early morning hours and location too.

  • May 25, 2015 by Lou Y.

    This place was such an awesome find!! My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to grab a bite and get some coffee to go. I called ahead to make sure they were still serving breaky, the lovely woman that answered was so kind and very pleasant over the phone. After that call, we decided to definitely try the place out. The decor was quaint and adorable. The service exceptional (we even hugged everyone there goodbye ) And the food/coffee was DELICIOUS!! If I lived close by I would be here everyday!

  • May 16, 2015 by Colton R.

    After searching for a good coffee/breakfast place I found this little shop. You'll drive right by it if your not careful but don't be fooled by its small appearance it will blow your mind. I got a smoothly and my wife got a Monkey Mocha, they were amazing. The staff is so friendly it makes you feel like you've known them for years. Also the food is really good the sausage wrap was really good! I will defiantly be going here everytime I come to the coast!

  • May 02, 2015 by brooksy2589

    stopped here on our way to San Luis Obispo; they will make you whatever you want, however you want it! great tasting coffee and amazing customer service. i think that this will be our go to coffee shop everytime we travel north from now on!

  • May 01, 2015 by Corynn W.

    First time! Got the blue berry muffin and vanilla latte. The customer service is lovely! Nothing but smiles. We will be back soon!

  • Apr 23, 2015 by Jessica M.

    Delicious drinks and amazing staff! Enjoy a coffee or smoothie with their relaxing patio seating. They also offer free wifi to customers!

  • Apr 18, 2015 by George S.

    Finally found a good coffee place in the area.  Really friendly service, good coffee, and a cool outdoor seating area.  They're even pet friendly.   I'll definitely be a returning customer.

  • Apr 10, 2015 by Michael G.

    After reading all the positive reviews,  stopped in here on a quiet Friday morning for coffee and breakfast with the family on our spring break travels.  Wife got a caramel latte with coconut milk,  I got the Chai Blaster with coconut milk.  Amazing! They use Santa Barbara Roasting Co coffee,  so you know it's quality. Kids both had ham croissants,  we each had the chorizo wraps,  which were all delicious. Vegetarian chorizo,  so we were excited about that. Ate and relaxed in the grassy area. Staff was super personable like the reviews said. Might just have to swing by here again on our way out of town! Edit :  came back the next morning for breakfast .  Both got chai blasters and food.  If it ain't broke,  don't fix it!

  • Apr 01, 2015 by Matt M.

    First time here and they were very friendly and fast and the drinks were amazing ! Definitely coming back. Definitely rather come here than starbucks. Support local businesses!!

  • Mar 28, 2015 by Tillmann F.

    What a great find. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to our party of 6, incl 2 small kids. Food was great all around, we had scones, Danish pastries and croissants filled with ham, egg and spinach. All great and the coffee was good too (my wife is the coffee connoisseur).

  • Feb 19, 2015 by Kyle S.

    Fantastic little coffee place with a huge heart to serve. Just amazing they will make sure you're satisfied with what you get.

  • Jan 31, 2015 by Fatima P.

    Delicious. Got the Chai Blaster: a chai using coffee instead of milk.

  • Jan 23, 2015 by Nicole J.

    This little coffee shop is wonderful. I've been to Coffee Express three times now and each time the costumer service and basic feel of the place exceeds the last. There is an adorable grassed seating section in the back to sit and enjoy your beverage or one of their delicious breakfast or any variation of the wraps they offer on the menu. The people who work here are kind and genuine, making me instantly feel comfortable and welcome with every visit. The coffees are delicious as are the wraps, but it really is the exceptional customer service that keeps me coming back. :)

  • Jan 17, 2015 by Manuel A.

    Excellent coffee and pastries. Services was awesome and very friendly and accommodating staff. The blueberry-lemon cupcake is a must.

  • Dec 10, 2014 by Jill W.

    My stomach was growling as I headed to work in Arroyo Grande from Santa Maria.  I always dread trying to find something decent to eat in the morning that's quick and easy, so I decided to ask Siri to find me a breakfast burrito near me.  She quickly found Coffee Express and gave me directions.  When I drove up, I remembered seeing this place quite often when I drove around AG but never thought to stop in and try it.  However, this time I was starving so I figured I'd give it a try.   First off, the guy at the drive up was really friendly...he took my order then half a sec later, a lady came to the window to confirm my order and to let me know she was going to cook it for me.   Well, WOWOWOW is the best way to describe what I ordered!  Vegetarian breakfast burrito with black beans, cheese, potatoes, eggs and spinach topped off with a White Chocolate Mocha.  The salsa that came with the burrito was a tongue burner so watch out for that, but everything was cooked to perfection and was so tasty!   I will DEFINITELY be making this one of my regular stops in the mornings when I come to AG!  Five stars for service with a smile and food that was simple, but oh so yummy!  I definitely recommend anyone give this a try!

  • Dec 09, 2014 by Robbie S.

    There is a reason why this is a five star business.   Personality above and beyond its competitors.   Fun park and great place for kids.   Treats for my dog!!!  Coffee sipping. If your looking for a friendly place and home town personality this place is perfect.

  • Nov 28, 2014 by Marnee C.

    What a fantastic place. Super friendly staff and great service. And, of course, excellent coffee. We like their bacon breakfast burritos, even in the afternoon, and the ginger cookies they had the other day were very tasty. The private park is a huge plus. We bring our two dogs and they are made to feel right at home, complete with dog treats and a big fresh bowl of water. This is a wonderful coffee spot. Don't miss it!

  • Nov 14, 2014 by Christopher S.

    This place has really great breakfast friendly atmosphere hands down great burritos and pastries.  Service was phenomenal I'm so happy with this place!!!! Definitely come in and try everything here is exceptional!

  • Nov 05, 2014 by Bryan S.

    Delicious food, fast and friendly service, and a tranquil atmosphere. I had the Power Wrap (subbed bacon for chorizo and added avocado), a cup of coffee and OJ. I saw the owner on my way and personally thanked her for a great meal. Will be making regular stops to this hidden gem whenever I'm in the area.

  • Sep 05, 2014 by Codee C.

    This place is definitely a new find and they can't seem to shake me. I think I have gone here three times in the last week( don't tell my wife).  What's not to love about this little gem? First off and most importantly the coffee is delish! Loooooooove the iced caramel macchiato with a little foam(the hot version and hazelnut is good too).  Although a bit hidden, this place has great curb appeal with a fancy lil drive thru window to convenience your morning rush. Hmmmm....I wonder what the inside looks like.    Anywho......just when you think they can't get any better you realize how friendly these guys are! I feel like they are more like neighbors or friends ....just warm kind hearted people and you can't help but have a smile on your face driving away from this quaint little joint. (By the way...tip them cuz they deserve it)   If you are a little hungry and want a little shnack with your coffee, get the power wrap and it will keep you going all day:) oh.....and they have this awesome little back patio that you can hang out in while u sip on your beverage of choice and enjoy that beautiful weather our central coast has to offer. They are doing it right! I love to support local businesses like this one!

  • Aug 30, 2014 by Ashley P.

    My boyfriend and I received a friendly a warm welcome upon arriving at the cafe. We came from out of town and were unfamiliar with the menu, but we received plenty of helpful suggestions from the employees. I ordered a hot Monkey Mocha to drink; steamed milk, espresso and banana flavoring, which was delicious and cured my morning coffee craving. To eat, I had the sausage, egg and cheese croissant. The croissant was fresh from the bakery nearby and so fluffy, overall an awesome and filling breakfast! My boyfriend ordered an iced green tea, which he deemed refreshing, and the chorizo wrap. Unbeknownst to us, we were later informed that the chorizo was actually 100% vegetarian. We were surprised at how flavorful it was even without meat! Hit this place up if you're in Arroyo Grande, fast and friendly service, good price, good food!

  • Aug 23, 2014 by Travis N.

    Girlfriend and I ate brunch here for the first time (even though we're local) and the Yelp reviews are legitimate. The food was wonderful. Both of our meals (I had the chorizo burrito, she had the sausage and egg croissant) were very flavorful and delicious. We each had coffee and enjoyed them very much. The flavors of my vanilla latte were well balanced and it was delicious. The staff were courteous, attentive and pleasant. I highly recommend others come and enjoy this place.

  • Aug 01, 2014 by Francine A.

    I was walking my dog when I saw this little drive thru for coffee and caught my attention. I was a bit famished and I saw they had "lunch" in the front, so I tried it out. All I can say is this place is "simple and sweet". I just had their special which was their power chicken wrap and iced tea, and it totally hit the spot. They area "fur friendly" too so that was a major plus. My dog was able to sniff around their patio whilst some children were playing. Like I said, simple and sweet. I'm definitely coming back.

  • Jul 07, 2014 by Carolyn B.

    I would award 6 stars if I could! Excellent coffee, great service. when in the area this will totally be my spot.

  • Jul 01, 2014 by Jim G.

    Great coffee, great service from sunny people.  The Power Wrap is my favorite breakfast--egg, black beans, spinach, cheese.  YUM!

  • Apr 28, 2014 by Joshua H.

    The absolute best place to grab a cup of coffee and some great food for breakfast or lunch. They also have the best green chile in the area!

  • Apr 11, 2014 by Sharon T.

    This place made my day. A friend told me he goes there every morning and now I know why! I will be going back!

  • Apr 05, 2014 by Izzy P.

    Beat spice chai tea latte to date, and the staff are super friendly. Love the small tables and umbrellas set out here where you can sit and relax.  A nice stop on a sunny day out on the motorcycle.

  • Mar 08, 2014 by Brittany O.

    I don't live in AG, I was just passing through. I read the reviews and I can't say that they were wrong. Everyone here is extremely friendly, this being my first time here everyone was very welcoming and attentive. The barista immediately helped me to decide what I would like. He guessed perfectly. The chai was delicious--perfect foam--and the protein and fiber wrap was just the right size with fresh tasting ingredients and spicy salsa. Loved it!

  • Nov 25, 2013 by Tasha E.

    Love the drive thru window, and Carmen and her crew are awesome! Good coffee, great food, fast and very friendly service. I'm glad I work within walking distance!

  • Nov 09, 2013 by Corey

    The pumpkin spice chai latte is to die for! And the service is fantastic.

  • Nov 09, 2013 by Nick F.

    Epic experience at a place I wish I owned. Great coffee, amazing mango salsa chicken wrap and the service was awesome. Pretty sure the tomatoes in my wrap were from her garden. So fresh! Outdoor seating only but it's like a little play area for kids with small tables. 5 stars for sure. Oh and the friendly lady who owns the place knew it was our first time there and gave us some of her coffee cake. So good!!!

  • Oct 16, 2013 by T. O.

    Tucked away on the North side of Grand and just east of Elm this little Jewel is almost invisible thanks to some super restrictive city sign ordinances but like all treasures here on the Central Coast, finding it is well rewarded. Drive thru or Walk in. From the funky '70's nautical themed little building complete with a half sunken ship in the back grass patio area to the convenience of the drive thru window the way you visit is up to you. However you come though you can be assured of sampling the best Hand Crafted coffee drinks, pastries and lunch specials served by the nicest people in town. I drink my coffee straight yet each cup is made to my order on the expresso machine and every day I'm asked if it is the way I like it. When was the last time starbucks asked you about their service? Ask for a club card, 10 drinks and they buy you one. Bring your dog and they'll give the beast a treat! Enjoy.

  • Sep 20, 2013 by Landon S.

    What an awesome place!  Fast, fresh, convenient, local.  We had breakfast wraps and they were delicious.  I'll be back!

  • Aug 20, 2013 by Stacie S.

    OMG! Spiced chai, fiber and protein wrap AND a doggy friendly place?? If I wasn't from the Sacramento area I'd be here more than once a week! Well done ladies. Well done.

  • Aug 20, 2013 by Aaliyah O.

    Very sweet ladies working here, and even sweeter treats! If you're lookin for a great cup of coffee or even a yummy snack, this is the place to go.

  • Aug 16, 2013 by Carrie H.

    I tried the chicken feta wrap. Very delicious and healthy. Very sweet ladies (mom and daughter) who will suggest the perfect drink if you're in the moo to try something new!

  • Aug 06, 2013 by David N.

    The owner is reason itself to come here. So cheerful and friendly. We had breakfast, scones and croissant b. Sanwich. All delicious.

  • Jul 28, 2013 by Pam M.

    Love the people of coffee. great local business to support!

  • Jun 11, 2013 by Antonio N.

    Gretchen made the most delicious turkey taco in a WRAP ! Driving and eating issooo easy!!!hahaha.. Best in town. Also had a SNOWCONE from Sandy right outside...thanks for the quick drive thru services

  • Jun 07, 2013 by Josh P.

    I found this place a couple weeks ago and the owner has taken great care of me every time I go in. Samples of this and that, friendly convo, and best of all great prices and even better food and beverages. I've been to the other coffee shops near by and there's no comparison. This place is way cheaper and the quality is waaayyyy better. The only thing that I can really think of to compare it to is all the other coffee places are cheap 2 dollar steaks and coffee express is the holy cow melt in your mouth Kobe. I go for the breakfast items either a wrap or a croissant which are homemade also the power bar is sooooo good bear claw I think was 2 bucks and it was the real deal almond paste not the cheap knock off stuff. Lemon bar is thick and not overpowering and the coffee drinks and all the other stuff made from the drink section is all high class as well. So, if your looking for cheap prices, grade a products, and friendly people this is this place. If its your first time get the sausage egg and cheese croissant and a beverage of your choice. This place will not disappoint

  • Apr 16, 2013 by teacherlisanne

    Kind, Prompt & Delicious~ REAL coffee +friendly service W/a smile ;)*

  • Mar 01, 2013 by Mathew S.

    This is my FAVORITE  hidden gem for both coffee and lunch. Carmen previously owned a bistro restaurant/cafe and she definitely brought her passion for food to Coffee Express. The entire staff are outgoing, friendly, warm and welcoming but most importantly the FOOD AND COFFEE ARE AMAZING. I get the Chunky Monkey which has banana and cocoa in it, as well as one of their wraps, at least twice a week. What makes this quaint establishment even more desirable are their prices. You can't beat great food and service at a low price-point. I have become a REGULAR and YOU SHOULD TOO! I just returned from Coffee Express and am not surprised that my expectations were exceeded. My coffee is perfect and lunch is fantastic: marinated chicken wrap with tomatos, lettuce and cheese with a side of rice, sweet potatoes, chicken, avocado on a bed of salad. AND ALL OF THAT FOR UNDER $10!

  • Feb 09, 2013 by Virginia H.

    I've only been to this place twice & am a fan. I don't know why I didn't notice this place sooner! Much better food, drinks, & customer service than other drive-thru coffee establishments in the area! The power wrap is delicious! I'll definitely be returning for more!

  • Jul 13, 2012 by Tammi F.

    I love it.  What this business lacks in size it makes up for in character.  The only thing better than their coffee drinks and food is their customer service.   I have always been greeted with a smile and my order is perfect every time. I look forward to days when I have court in San Luis Obispo so I can stop on my way back to Santa Maria.

  • May 05, 2012 by Joe And Kim F.

    This is such a cute little place to get a snack, breakfast or lunch! The staff are very nice and truely want you to have a good experience. The food is delicious! They have locally made products. Organic bagels that the baker milled the grain for...they are not made at this coffee shop but they are local and absolutely yummy! The coffee is made to order. They also have fruit smooties, scones, breakfast wraps and more! They have a drive up window for the quick stop bys or a very peaceful backyard type setting. The backyard area is fenced in and has a wooden boat so kids have a little area to play when they are restless. There are always fresh flowers on the tables outside, which adds a nice touch. Try this place at least once!

  • Apr 12, 2012 by Trish P.

    I am a regular at Coffee Express.  They are located 2 blocks from where I work and the drive-thru is great.  The staff is very friendly and welcoming.   I suggest the caramel latte, made with real caramel and a healthy energy boosting power cookie.

  • Feb 15, 2012 by Pa Chia D.

    Wow... I literally just got home from visiting this fine establishment and I can say that I love it!  My ice blended white chocolate cream coffee is excellent - 3 shots of expresso which you can really taste it and not taste like a ice cream smoothie or something. First, I pulled up to the window and the owner greeted me and proceeded to apologize for the tackiness of the drive-thru; due to the city's regulations, she is unable to change it.  Nonsense!  I would have none of it.  I think it is absolutely a charming, cute drive-thru.  I was actually thinking about how much character it has. I ordered and when she finished, we had a nice short conversation and made sure I was satisfied with my drink.  She offered to make me another one if it wasn't right. I think this is the first time I've ever come home and immediately written a good review of an establishment (except for Starbucks in which I vented about their poor service - as I am apparently not the only Yelper in disappointment). I wish they were open at 10pm when I really need a coffee fix to work my NOC shift.  Anywho, this is perfect for now!

  • Jan 03, 2012 by Julie

    Good place for diabetics! Ask about low-sugar treats. They also make a killer cinnamon mocha!

  • Mar 19, 2011 by Jeanette S.

    Coffee Express has the best tri- tip wrap I have ever had. It is made fresh with veggies and salsa. Yum!!!! I really like going to the drive up window when it is raining and the staff is always friendly and helpful. :)

  • Feb 24, 2011 by Anna G.

    I love the fact that they have a drive up window.  Everyone is always so welcoming and friendly.  Their service and coffee are wonderful and I would highly recommend everyone to visit this fine establishment!

  • Jan 05, 2011 by Joshua

    Also a great location if you have pets

  • Dec 13, 2010 by Ashley

    This place has a cool little playground for the kiddos to play on