FUEGO

FUEGO

1187 West Grand Avenue
Grover Beach CA 93433
805-710-6477

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Aug 27, 2020 by R. Kesselring

    Pricey but worth it for a treat. I inhaled the Bahn-Mi, mac n cheese, and a cookie. Oh my god. It's the best sandwich I've ever had. I'm obsessed. I could eat three of them in one sitting if I had the money. Definitely coming back!

    I appreciate the simple menu but would like a veggie sandwich option besides avocado toast.

  • Aug 09, 2020 by Paul Malarik Jr

    For us locals, especially with dangers & expense of traveling with C-19, the Banh Mi here is stellar & is prepped & can be eaten in a safe environment [excellent C-19 precautions here] . While there is/was 1-2 places within hundred miles of here that had "Banh Mi", run by Vietnamese, they were total disappointments, and lacked numerous essential ingredients.

    After living here for several years, lacking any decent Banh Mi's, except if someone happened to take a rare long trip to either the SF or LA/Orange County Vietnamese areas, I was cautiously optimistic about this place.

    Once I walked in and at first spied the specially made mini-French Baguette Breads, my fledgling hope was taken up many notches. As I chatted with the staff and request it to be toasted, asked for extra Mayo, I could tell that they really knew what they were doing, and also had the proper essential ingredients, including savory fermented Anchovy sauce.

    After getting a nice humble table outside, I took one bite and almost could not believe my taste buds. I took a few more and the Umami Savory ingredients were delightful, as they harmonized with the crunch of both the French bread, and the pickled delightful snap of strips of daikon and carrot. The Cilantro made a nice note, as the amazingly tender tasty marinated Pork sang. The mouth feel of the Mayo gave out a creamy note, just as the fresh green Jalapeño slices, gave a boast to the hot Mayo [Sirarchi] spicy tune.

    It was overall a joyous culinary symphony that unfolded in my mouth, outside of this humble place. An almost uncharted Oasis, in a virtual desert of quality ethnic foods. I almost could hear the main theme song of 2001...it was that great!

    Even before I was halfway thru, my wife could see that I was in some otherworldly blissful state near enlightenment, and already was asking me if I wanted another [to go]. I deferred since we had to still hit a few farm stands, like nearby Okui's for yummy strawberries, before we headed home to nearby Shell Beach. We already had our trunk half full of the spoils of us "raiding" two local Farmers Markets [Templeton & AG Village], as well as, Cal Poly meats, so I did not want things to go bad. Besides, since this new wonderful place was open seven days a week and only a short drive from our seaside home, we could come anytime for many more ultra-fresh ultra-yummy Banh Mi's.

    This Banh Mi is basically a well crafted gourmet version of the typical Vietnamese take on it, whether it be chains in CA/HI, or Vietnamese Deli/shops in San Jose or Garden Grove.

    In Vietnamese areas, which are hundreds of miles away, and hundreds of dollars away, in terms of gas/hotel, can you get a heftier version, more ingredients, at a lower price?

    Yes & No...is the answer. Many of the Vietnamese places go for quantity over quality, and use cheaper fattier ingredients. A typical Combo Banh Mi in San Jose is no longer that cheap either, since you are going to pay about $6 for an everything one [which was my fav till Fuego came onto the local scene]. Typical Banh Mi's use fatty cheap cold cuts and very fatty cheap Pate, so along with all the Mayo, you have almost unrelenting cheap fat. Even the pickled Daikon & Carrot is often limp....especially after a 4+ hour drive.

    For locals it is worth it? That is an unqualified ABSOLUTELY! You are blessed with getting a gourmet quality lovingly crafted locally made work of art for only about $10. In this area, you rarely find anything like this quality for $10-20. Since a typical trip for us locals to a true Vietnamese area would cost a minimum of at least $300 [gas, hotel, incidentals], this is a bargain [& will pay for ~30 Fuego Banh Mi's]

    Furthermore, the local Wild Blueberry & Basil Kombucha on tap is a wonderful welcomed refreshing addition & surely compliments the Banh Mi.

    Please also support our/their local bakery, Kombucha brewer, & Debu Deli.

    Thank you Fuego & their wonderful owners/workers in these very challenging times!!!!

    A MUST!!! Simply STELLAR!!!

  • Jul 29, 2020 by FanoftheFett

    The food was absolutely incredible, price was good,and the owner was more than accommodating. Definitely check this one out!

  • Jul 22, 2020 by Nathan B

    Really great food but the sandwiches are small. $20 for a 3" equivalent sandwich, coleslaw and a cookie. Its great but I would have to have 3 of those sandwiches to fill me up.

  • Jul 14, 2020 by Little AssKicker

    Just wasn't my thing I guess. Really nice staff and they definitely catered to what I wanted in ingredients, just disliked the limited menu and sometimes the sandwiches are hit or miss. Not a bad place just, hit or miss depending on the type of sandwiches they have to offer.

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Hannah W

    SLOW!! First time customer after hearing great reviews. Told the gal I didn't want cilantro on my chicken sandwich, she ended up forgetting the onions, and told me that the Siracha-Mayo sauce is the signature sauce, but the website says the Fuego sauce is a BBQ sauce. Not impressed, especially for that price.

  • Jun 25, 2020 by Dori M.

    Love at first bite. I had the chicken sandwich with cilantro. It was delicious and juicy. Almost need a bib to eat it. Came on a substantial roll that held up to all the moisture and didn't fall apart. Staff was friendly and the place is clean.

  • Jun 23, 2020 by Brianne C.

    Great little family owned business. They use only fresh and local ingredients. Their sandwiches are awesome, but I can't get enough of the Bahn Mi. This is the kind of business that I love to support in my community. I spoke with the chef the other day and she said they are looking to add music, comedy, etc for the community (Covid got in the way of that for now). They have my support!

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Brian M.

    Stopped for the first time today and the food was great, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this place!

  • Jun 21, 2020 by Ethan Etnyre

    The Bahn Mi sandwich was killer. A very balanced sandwich, with just the right proportion of meat/pickled carrots and diakon/ jalapenos/basil/and ginger sauce. So satisfying with a large portion of mac and cheese. Get it now!!! Oh, and get a lemon bar or two. Tangy with just the right amount of sweetness. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Jun 21, 2020 by Emily R.

    My sisters and I ordered Banh-mi and Mac and cheese. It was super yummy!! The banh mi was crisp and the veggies were pickled really tasty. I really liked the Mac and cheese but my sister wasn't a fan. It's more of a baked Mac rather than a creamy style, but it might have been a little more moist if we had warmed it up a little bit more. We also had a lemon bar and it was tasty. I wish the lemon flavor was stronger but I like it when the lemon punches me in the face haha. Customer service wise, the person who helped us was so sweet and nice. They were super friendly and gave us good recommendations. Overall a really wonderful experience!!! The menu might be small, but it was a great place to eat and I recommend

  • Jun 16, 2020 by Linda D.

    Wow. What a find. A goldmine of flavorful sandwiches. Feel lucky to have discovered this restaurant.  Not an average sandwich at all

  • Jun 14, 2020 by R. Kesselring

    Pricey but worth it for a treat. I inhaled the Bahn-Mi, mac n cheese, and a cookie. Oh my god. It's the best sandwich I've ever had. I'm obsessed. I could eat three of them in one sitting I had the money. Definitely coming back!

    I appreciate the simple menu but would like a veggie sandwich option besides avocado toast.

  • Jun 13, 2020 by Matthew L.

    Well, first of all, there is nothing like it in our area. Very simple menu but delicious. We were not disappointed. We had the rotisserie chicken and tri tip sandwiches. The rotisserie chicken was very moist and flavorful. The tri tip was special today so not always on the menu, but very tender and juicy. The sauces are what make both sandwiches. Jim and Casandra were very passionate about the food they make. Very reasonable prices and we did not leave hungry.

  • Jun 04, 2020 by Jingran L.

    I am not a sandwich person but this place is surprisingly good. 好吃!Service is good too!

  • Jun 02, 2020 by Jonathon Reynolds

    Fuego's menu is limited in options, but it balances quality, portion, and price well. Their Mac N' Cheese uses a delicious blend of cheeses and the noodles are cooked to perfection. The cheese can become dried out very quickly though. Their pork sandwich is excellent. Overall, Fuego provides great value at a price point that makes it an effective alternative to fast food establishments.

  • Jun 02, 2020 by Kelly M.

    Today I ordered the banh-mi. It was really good.  I enjoyed the flavors and texture of the meat in the sandwich.  The pickled veggies were on point and the fresh jalapenos were there just enough.  I even like the sauce they make. I'm really picky about sauces too. The bread works well for this sandwich.  After reading some of the reviews, here's what I want to say to those who cry about it being "over priced" or "small" what you should do is go to the drive true and eat the cheap crap they serve.  This place has good ingredients and take time on there food. It cost money do this. It was absolutely worth it. We dont have to be completely stuffed everytime we eat. Only in America do you find sandwiches so big. Ok let me stop. This year has me on edge and ready to talk shit. What the fuck is happening America? #blacklivesmatter

  • Jun 01, 2020 by Donna Galassi

    The sandwiches at Fuego are fresh and delicious with distinctive flavors. I recommend the Bahn-mi sandwich, also liked the mac & cheese and cole slaw. This place is a great alternative to corporate chain sandwich shops where everything tastes the same. Go for the flavor!

  • May 27, 2020 by Erik P.

    Amazing Place!!! Ended up swinging by and asked what they recommend. The bon Mi she said. It was the most incredible and different sandwich ever. There are a lot of sandwich shops in town. If you want something different that will blow your mind. Try anything on the menu. Side note ask for a side of the homemade sauce. Highly recommend

  • May 26, 2020 by Nazli H.

    We stopped at this place while on our way to Morro Bay and so glad we did! It has an unencumbered menu which often constitutes to better quality sandwiches. It was exactly that. They had their own house-made cilantro and red pepper sauces (per owner, combo of 10 different peppers)that were amazing!!!!! The pepper sauce wasn't too spicy, just the right amount of kick to still enjoy all the other flavours of the sandwich. I ordered chicken sandwich and my boyfriend got pork   Both were delicious and fresh. The owner, Victoria and her daughter work here and we're very friendly. If you happen to be in the area, do yourself a favour and stop by for a bite! You won't regret it!         P.S. Just a note, if you are expecting Subway style sandwiches, this is not a place for you

  • May 22, 2020 by B.K. G.

    Loved the Bahn Mi! Very fresh and flavorful. Had a bite of the pork sandwich and the sauce was amazing and I'm not a barbecue fan. Really looking forward to another Bahn Mi.

  • May 19, 2020 by Lynn S.

    I love for new places to pop up, and really wanted to like this place. Despite my review I hope it does well. I can't see how you can have a sandwich shop or any kind of food establishment that only serves a few things. If you are going to do that those few things must be out of this world good. I came in had the pork sandwich, it was pork like you can make at home in a slow cooker, shoved in a roll added some sauce (I did not care for) and I believe they added some spinach leafs. The bread was soggy and feel apart. The Mac and cheese was just ok. I give them one extra star only because they were very nice and friendly. I'm sure they won't listen to me, but they should try a better vessel to serve the pork sandwich on. If they are going to make it, it's time you add to the menu because what is on the menu now is not "out of the world good"

  • May 13, 2020 by Jim B.

    Been in a couple times since they opened, and had the pork sandwich both times. Had them put jalapeños on it instead of onions, and it was vary tasty. Simple menu right now, I don't know if there are plans to add to it. I love tri tip, and would love to see it added to the menu.

  • May 12, 2020 by Carlley S.

    Delicious food! I ordered the chicken sandwich for myself and the BEST oatmeal cookie! I ordered my hubby the pork sandwich and mac and cheese to pack for his lunch for the next day. He said he loved both... I ordered both sauces on the side and had no problem with our sandwiches being soggy, even the next day. Customer service was "Top Notch" Looking forward to returning for more yummy food and Great service.

  • May 12, 2020 by Chris G.

    Fuego is fuego. Their bahn mi is really really good, that and the three cheese mac n cheese is a great lunch. The best part about the small menu is that everything is reliably great.

  • May 09, 2020 by Kimberly M.

    Their atmosphere and decor absolutely capture their flavorless food. I've eaten gas station sandwiches that have more taste ; maybe it's the quality of they're ingredients or they just don't know how to cook, but I will not be coming back; maybe I'll give them a shot next year if they're still around. This place is not "fuego"

  • May 08, 2020 by M. S.

    So I like that the menu is small, staff looked friendly too. That's pretty much it for the things I liked. I really wanted to like this place but it was fail after fail with my meal. I heard they had amazing mole style bbq sauce, (me being a mole enthusiast I was stoked) sadly I was not impressed. I got the pork sandwich to go and by the time I got home the bread was so soggy, and falling apart. (I strongly dislike eating messy food) the last thing I ordered was the Mac and cheese, not great either plus there was so much oil at the bottom it was gross and flavorless. But the grosses part was the hair that I discovered a few bites in, safe to say I tossed out the whole meal after seeing it. 10/10 would not recommend

  • May 03, 2020 by Jeremy D.

    Great place to stop by and pick up some sandwiches before heading to the beach. We got the pork sandwich and the tuna which were delicious! The owner was super nice and accommodating. Definitely coming back!

  • Apr 28, 2020 by Mike C.

    I was walking out of the liquor store right next to Fuego and wanted to see a menu, but they were about to close and I didn't want to pass up what looked like a really good pork sandwich. So I impulsed bought my dinner and it did not disappoint. Had all the right flavors that complemented each other. Friendly staff and they know great customer service. Prices are not bad at all either. Well worth it!

  • Apr 24, 2020 by Gene L.

    I've been looking for a good bahn mi sandwich around this area and haven't been able to find anything even halfway decent until I came to Fuego's. Got a quality sandwich with all the right pickled veggies, cilantro and just the right amount of pork belly. Definitely the best bahn mi sandwich around here. The chicken and pork are also really tender and juicy as well. If you love cilantro you'll love this place. Will def be coming back for that bahn mi. Bet.

  • Jan 09, 2020 by Marshall Brown

    Very impressed so far. The chicken sandwich is amazing. I will be back!

  • Jan 09, 2020 by Marshall Brown

    Very impressed so far. The chicken sandwich is amazing. I will be back!

  • Jan 07, 2020 by Dylan Todd

    Awesome food and nice people. Roasted pork was amazing, can't wait to try the rest of the menu.