Darrell Bass, DDS

Darrell Bass, DDS

835 Aerovista Lane
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-543-4266

Hours:
Mon: 9:00am - 4:30pm
Tue: 9:00am - 4:30pm
Wed: 9:00am - 4:30pm
Thu: 9:00am - 4:30pm
Fri: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Jun 03, 2019 by Mitch P.

    Dr Williams is an absolute amazing artist.   He and his staff are a pleasure to go to. Fun to talk to and it's very very clear Eric is obsessed with perfection like I've never seen in dentistry before.   Thank you very much!!!

  • Jan 02, 2019 by Tracey Cleeland

    Exceptional care and appreciate personable professional staff all around! Have recommended to others and will continue to do so. Thank you and Happy 2019!

  • Dec 28, 2018 by Candace Bowie

    Been seeing Dr Bass since he came to SLO. It was very nice to meet the new doctor, he seems like he really cares. It is always a pleasure to see Kristy.

  • Dec 11, 2018 by Aurora Baron

    Great job and thanks for fitting me in and taken care of.

  • Nov 20, 2018 by Jo BC-Harvey

    Friendly staff and dentist. Timely.

  • Nov 19, 2018 by Barbara Key

    Dr. Williamson is professional, thorough, and gentle. I would highly recommend him.

  • Nov 15, 2018 by Shelley Doyle

    I have been coming to this dental practice for 5 years and have always had a great experience. The staff is so friendly and there is never a wait for scheduled appointments. My teeth have never been happier!

  • Nov 15, 2018 by BRANDY L HUGO

    Awesome!!!

  • Nov 05, 2018 by Raquel Tomelloso

    Excellent

  • Oct 23, 2018 by Barbara Wigney

    Dr. Williamson is awesome! I feel very confident with my dental needs and his abilities.

  • Oct 23, 2018 by Barbara Wigney

    Dr. Williamson is awesome! I feel very confident with my dental needs and his abilities.

  • Oct 10, 2018 by Barbara Wigney

    Dr. Williamson is awesome! I feel very confident with my dental needs and his abilities.

  • Oct 10, 2018 by Ian Jennings

    The new Dr. Williamson is amazing! He was very helpful with my questions. I felt very taken care of here. So much better than my last dentist!

  • Oct 09, 2018 by Beth H

    Dr. Williamson is my new dentist !! It's always a little anxiety causing to have a new dentist. Dr. Wliliamson is now in with Dr. Bass' office, and I couldn't be more pleased with that. I have had extensive dental work, so I definitely have experience to draw from when I say that I have complete confidence in his dental expertise. The support team with Dr. Williamsons' office is the same, and they still keep the office smooth as ever and running seamlessly. Very pleased. Very grateful to have found them all :)

  • Oct 04, 2018 by Molly Woehrle

    Dr Williamson took such good care of me. He is gentle and explains each step. He goes above and beyond with service and quality and you can tell he truly cares about your experience.

  • Sep 26, 2018 by robbie

    great place

  • Sep 26, 2018 by Erik L.

    I saw Dr. Williams. very friendly an d attentive staff. Glad to be in this office. My wife is very happy here as well.

  • Sep 18, 2018 by Hailey Chiasson

    Always a great experience and nothing has changed with the new doctor! Great, friendly, easy in n out!

  • Sep 05, 2018 by Kimberly G

    super professional and good. You get all the latest techno stuff. I have plenty of shot to numb things, I will tell you the I got I couldn't even tell I was having it done. Amazing!!!. Don't wait to book your next appointment

  • Jul 24, 2018 by gina

    exeptional staff, extremely clean, great service. i'm very happy i found these guys.

  • Jul 03, 2018 by Gake G.

    My first review on yelp isn't about a restaurant or cafe it's about a dental office. That should speak volumes on how I feel about the care and compassion Dr. Bass and his assistant have when caring for their patients. They were patient and took their time explaining everything I needed to know about my teeth. I will definitely be coming here again if I need to see a dentist in the future. Also, Rachel is the best receptionist ever!

  • Jul 02, 2018 by Michael Rice

    Exceptional professionalism and experience in all aspects of dentistry.
    Dr. Bass is highly recommended.

  • Jun 25, 2018 by Tyler Ramsey

  • Jun 15, 2018 by Gavin Hall

    Julia was a great hygenist, she made me feel comfortable and was very friendly. Dr. Bass and his staff are professional and efficient.

  • Jun 13, 2018 by Ryan Varner

    Calm, comfortable environment. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Jun 11, 2018 by Ryan Varner

    Calm, comfortable environment. Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • May 16, 2018 by Jeannew Wilbanks

    Excellent work - from the front office to the actual dentistry! I'd recommend Dr. Bass to my friends.

  • May 08, 2018 by R babb

    Great service from front desk to specialists. Very accomodating and pleasant. Appreciate the service. Office ladies in the front are so sweet and helpful!

  • Apr 24, 2018 by Beth Crane

    No pain!!! The nicest people ever. Fabulouse dentist

  • Apr 17, 2018 by S potter

    Great service from front desk to specialists. Very accomodating and pleasant. Appreciate the service.

  • Apr 16, 2018 by Kevin

    Great place. Very clean and modern. Bass and team really made my visit relaxing.

  • Apr 16, 2018 by LaDell Erby

    Dr Darrell and Joana were a dream to work with. My cleaning and examination was thorough and they gave me a lot of great dental care advice. They even gave me a plan to get my smile to its optimal state. I will not take my grill any where else going forward

    Happy customer!

  • Apr 16, 2018 by John E.

    Beautiful office! The view alone as i'm getting my teeth cleaned was very relaxing.  The front staff was also very attentive and answered all my questions.  I didn't have to wait longer than 5 mins for a last minute teeth cleaning.  Very modern office and I felt like a million bucks. I highly recommend this dentist office.   You will feel well taken care of.

  • Apr 16, 2018 by Rebecca D.

    I recommend Dr. Bass, but his office staff is disorganized as related to insurance, hence the 1 star review. Every time I go,  I ask if all is alright with our insurance. Apparently,  the office had a problem with the insurance that they could not solve,  but only told us after my husband and I both had visited numerous times over a year and a half period.  While I appreciate Dr. Bass, I do not have the additional funds, after paying for dental insurance,  to pay for dental visits just for the heck of it.  Also, I can understand the 1st visit without insurance, because that's likely when the office learned of the problem. But to know there is a problem with 2 accounts and to continue to schedule appointments without talking to us is very frustrating and expensive.  I'd recommend the office if you are a cash patient.

  • Apr 09, 2018 by LaDell Erby

    Dr Darrell and Joana were a dream to work with. My cleaning and examination was thorough and they gave me a lot of great dental care advice. They even gave me a plan to get my smile to its optimal state. I will not take my grill any where else going forward

    Happy customer!

  • Apr 09, 2018 by Shawn

    This was my first visit to Dr. Bass's office. The office staff was very professional, and Dr Bass was very nice, thorough and the good news about my teeth didn't hurt either.

  • Apr 04, 2018 by Mike gray

    Greatest ever !!! Highly recommended.

  • Mar 19, 2018 by Harley A.

    Excellent service and excellent care! I would refer them to friends and family. Treated me very well and made me feel very comfortable!

  • Mar 04, 2018 by Susan E.

    Dr. Bass is the most Awesome dentist in the world!  I've never met a more gracious, professional, lovely, caring, attentive, human being.    He's a perfectionist, Loves what he does, gets his patients completely involved, I just can't say enough about the warmth & professionalism at Dr. Basses office, they are wonderful!!!

  • Feb 05, 2018 by Michelle S.

    Great first visit amazing cleaning!

  • Jan 22, 2018 by Matthew

    Great doctor. Awesome staff. Made appointment and got in 20 mins early.

  • Jan 02, 2018 by Hillary

    Very nice team, clean office with beautiful views, and Dr. bass was very thorough and kind!

  • Nov 27, 2017 by Brittany App

    Great service, super friendly and thorough.

  • Oct 18, 2017 by Adam S.

    Very informative, comforting environment, will definitely be back.

  • Oct 17, 2017 by Drew

    Nice office and people. Very helpful.

  • Aug 21, 2017 by Mike Guerre

    Was very comfortable and received excellent care in a very nice environment

  • Aug 14, 2017 by susan minker

    love this practice. beautiful environment. music coukd be lowered a little.

  • Aug 08, 2017 by Phillip J.

    I cannot begin to explain how happy I am that I found this dentist. I usually feel pretty contemptuous about visiting dentists for the obvious reasons. Let me begin with the front of staff, they are so nice and very welcoming. Whatever anxieties one has with a stranger prodding in your mouth completely dissipates when you walk in. Julia, the Hygienist was informative and did a phenomenal job. She is amazingly personable and relays healthy tips on how to continuously keep your teeth clean in a way that makes sense and doesn't sound like your adding another task onto your never-ending "adulting" nightly health regimens. Dr. Bass was everything that the other reviews stated he was. He provides phenomenal examples, like Julia about the importance of dental hygiene. My past experiences with dentists always went like this, "you need to floss more" without any reason as to why it was important. Dr. Bass verbalized great references to reinforce the importance about the upkeep of your mouth. He also kept things transparent in terms of costs. He understands that not everyone can afford certain procedures so he provided an alternate, cost-effective fix for some of my dental problems. Overall I've never had an experience this great at a Dr's office. I will 100% be back.

  • Aug 02, 2017 by Kimberly A.

    You don't always think about posting a Yelp review on your dentist, but I personally think Dr. Bass and his office are highly deserving one. I have been going here for a few years, my very first appointment was a dental emergency. I called around a few places and nobody would see me. My husband being a client here suggested I give Dr. Bass a call. He got me in the same day and the rest is history. I now visit them every 6 months and each time from start to finish I am blown away by the friendliness and knowledge that everyone in his office has. My schedule is a bit tough to work with, but they always give me the time slot that I need. Dr. Bass is a total joy to work with. Never makes you feel pressured or uncomfortable. I'm sure he hears this all the time, but my husband and I swear he looks like Mick Jager. Literally never changing dental offices...ever.

  • Apr 17, 2017 by Sonna

    Thank you. Beautiful office.

  • Mar 20, 2017 by Brandon F.

    I have had nothing but a great experience! Dr. Bass is a great dentist based on his knowledge and getting the work done in a timely-fashion. The staff is very friendly and will help. Highly recommend Dr. Bass to those looking for a new dentist.

  • Mar 16, 2017 by Rick S.

    Excellent service, quick, painless and professsional. Kudos to Julia and Dr B, along with the whole team.  Best dentist I've ever had.

  • Mar 13, 2017 by Scarlette Whitted

    I chose to come here simply because it was closest to my house without even checking any ratings of dentists in the area and comparing, and I am so happy with my decision. The receptionist managed to squeeze me in on a cancellation appointment within the same week of calling. I had some issues with my insurance and she contacted them for me and kept me updated on what was going on and what I could do on my end to make it work. The staff was very friendly when coming into the clean, modern office and helped me through my paperwork, which only took me about 5 minutes, even for being a new patient. The hygienist that cleaned my teeth was very informative of every process she completed and the status of my teeth along the way. She provided me with many helpful hints of what I can do to keep up caring for my teeth and specific things to help with small problems. She was gentle, funny and very intelligent, being willing to explain to me anything I had questions about in a clear and understandable manner. Dr. Bass was wonderful. He completed a thorough examination of my teeth and let me know any potential concerns. When I asked him to lay it on me scientifically, he did so by thoroughly explaining how the muscles and bones in my jaw were interacting and what this meant relating to my condition. I could not give my experience a higher rating. Dr. Bass and his staff made for an all-around wonderful experience and I can definitely say going here will help make you not dread going to the dentist!

  • Mar 08, 2017 by Aileen

    Great service! The staff is so friendly and I didn't have to wait for my appointment which was nice. My cleaning went well and I would recommend this place! Dr. Bass is so nice!

  • Feb 08, 2017 by Gabe Davis

    Excellent service. I recommend Dr. Bass and team to all of my coworkers

  • Feb 08, 2017 by Mr. D.

    Excellent service. I recommend Dr. Bass and team to all of my coworkers

  • Jan 31, 2017 by Jessica Tyndall

    Friendly staff and great service! Doctor Bass was very informative.

  • Jan 31, 2017 by Todd Walker

    Fantastic Dentist! Highly recommended!

  • Jan 27, 2017 by Midge M.

    Dr. Bass is great! I chipped a crown on a popcorn kernel on a trip to an Orchid Convention and came into Bass' office for a fix. His staff got me in quick and the procedure was quick and painless!

    And may I mention that Bass is quite the…

  • Jan 24, 2017 by Lauren Ferrara

    I had not been in for a teeth cleaning in more years than I am willing to admit. Dr. Bass and his dental hygienist, Kristi, were thorough beyond belief. They communicated with me through every step of my appointment and made…

  • Jan 24, 2017 by Lauren F.

    I had not been in for a teeth cleaning in more years than I am willing to admit. Dr. Bass and his dental hygienist, Kristi, were thorough beyond belief. They communicated with me through every step of my appointment and made recommendations that I will surely follow from here on out. It is clear that this team truly cares about their patients, and I will be a patient of Dr. Bass's for years to come!

  • Dec 09, 2016 by Daniel Williams

    Always a great experience

  • Dec 07, 2016 by Katie

    This was my first time seeing Dr. Bass. I read his yelp reviews, and wanted to try someone that had a lot of experience in costmetic dentistry as I had a hairline fracture on my front tooth. The staff was professional and attentive, and…

  • Nov 23, 2016 by Cherie H.

    My husband and I have been going to Dr. Bass's office for several years now and have been very satisfied with his service. He is always professional, honest, efficient and pleasant to work with. His current office staff and hygienists are all pleasant and lovely to work with as well. I would recommend his office to anyone.

  • Nov 17, 2016 by Heidi Burton

    Easy and painless. The best experience with having a crown replaced. Impressive porceline crown making equipment. Thank you!

  • Nov 09, 2016 by Woody

    Quick and easy process. Took much less time than I expected.

  • Nov 08, 2016 by Geoff

    I had a great first experience! Dr. Bass was very friendly and helpful, as was his staff. The cleaning was painless and treatment advice very straightforward.

  • Nov 01, 2016 by Amber S.

    I love the staff, the office and the dentist. Everybody is friendly and on this visit I had my 3 month old with me in the stroller. He started to fuss so the receptionist held him while I finished my cleaning.

  • Oct 21, 2016 by Kayla H.

    -posting on my wife's account- Dr. Vandewalker is one in a million! I've had a fear of dentistry since i can remember, but he, as a dentist is amazing. Not only that, but he is just an awesome person. He's easy to get along with, easy to talk to, a true professional, and a master of his craft. I was sad to see him leave the Air Force, but he can do so much more out in the real world. Jon Vandewalker is without peer as a dentist. Furthermore I'm proud to say he's truly the best in the business! 10/10

  • Oct 01, 2016 by Susan E.

    Dr. Bass attentive, gentle, caring,. Excellence to the extreme. And no waiting for appointments! Help! Done. And done right!  Love him, love his staff, my long search for the perfect Dentist is over! Thank you Doc!

  • Aug 30, 2016 by Angela Thorne

    Dr. Bass is an excellent dentist. I enjoy coming into his office for dental work. The staff is amazing too. I feel like I'm visiting with friends every time I go in.

  • Aug 16, 2016 by dakota ives

    very nice front desk. my tech was great about not making feel bad about not having been to the dentist in a while. dr bass was great at working with my insurance and getting me the care I needed

  • Aug 02, 2016 by Bill W.

    Dr. Vandewalker recently completed my dental implant surgery and completed impressed me where other dentists said it couldn't be done.  Thanks to him, I have full use of the critical chompers in the back of mouth.  Extremely professional and very well done.  Excellence is his standard!

  • Jul 25, 2016 by William W.

    Dr. Vandewalker is the best dentist I've ever met! He thoroughly assessed the situation with one of my molars and explained all the pros and cons before we went any further. And as the process to repair and recovery began, Dr. Vandewalker was always there whenever I had any questions or concerns. His skill and professionalism is above reproach!

  • Jul 16, 2016 by Rob T.

    I had a great experience with Dr. Vandewalker. He took the time to explain what work needed to be done and what he was doing along the way. On one particular visit that was slated to take 3-4 hours, not only did he do the work I had scheduled, but he also took the time to knock out my annual exam, saving me another trip and avoiding wasted time. He's knowledgeable, thorough, professional, and perhaps most importantly, congenial. You won't just feel like a set of teeth to be worked on; he cares about his patients and it shows. With Dr. Vandewalker, only thing you need to worry about is picking your favorite music!

  • Jul 15, 2016 by Laura W.

    Dr. Vandewalker genuinely cares about his patients and the care they receive. Hands down the best dentist I have ever had.

  • Jul 14, 2016 by Harriz S.

    Dr. Vandewalker worked on my crowns. Met him when he was still active duty AF and been my primary provider until he separated. He's always on time and always courteous, professional and greet you with a smile. He is very knowledgeable, and patiently explains the procedure to his patients. There was a time during my procedure, where he took the time to entertain my curiosity about the new equipment that he was using and showed me how it works and what it can do. Dr. Vandewalker is very pleasant to work with and outstanding... I'm glad to know that he can now serve the civilian community.

  • Jul 14, 2016 by Amanda W.

    Dr. Vandewalker is the best.  He is always smiling, genuinely cares about his patients & is happy to see you, is thorough & takes much pride in his work.  He plays music and makes your dental experience as enjoyable as possible.  Before seeing him, I expected to have to go back for "tweaks" of my dental work bec something feels "off", but w/Dr.V, I never have to do that!  They fit & feel perfect & natural every time!  He's the best.

  • Jul 13, 2016 by Ashley C.

    I have always been afraid of the dentist to be honest, but I actually do not mind going to appointments with Dr. Vandewalker. I actually look forward to some of them as I know at a minimum he will have fun music playing and he will have a smile on his face. In addition to the way that Dr. Vandewalker was always able to put me at ease, he also reallyyyyy knows his stuff. I felt completely confident with his ability to handle my root canal and crown he put on my tooth. He also rebuilt one of my teeth using a machine that produces artificial tooth inserts from a 3D scan. This has been amazing as I no longer have a gap in between my teeth and my gums are healthier for it. I would trust Dr. Vandewalker with any of my dental needs. He very much believes in integrating new technology and advancements in his practice. If you are in need of a dentist, Dr. Vandewalker is the person to see.

  • Jul 13, 2016 by Jat G.

    I've had my share of dental work and different dentists. Dr. Vandewalker was in every category the best so far. He'd performed a surgery on my 7,8 & 9 (front teeth) upper bone and then replaced the crowns. Fantastic service and pain free throughout.

  • May 03, 2016 by Thomas Burgin

    When I was going here with insurance it seemed like the bills were normal. The first time I went there without insurance I was charged $200 for a routine teeth cleaning. I was shocked! I called the office as a potential new customer and was told $80 over the phone, I guess when it comes to cash customers he really wants to cash in. Also after having me teeth deep cleaned I really wanted to go for white teeth so I looked into the laser teeth whitening that consisted of sitting under a light for 45min and was charged another $400. I was charged $600 cash for a routing teeth cleaning and a light treatment that I don't think actually did anything. I will never go again and told everyone I work with and family. Total rip off.

  • Mar 06, 2016 by David Idell

    Tremendous Dentist. The entire staff is awesome and they always do a great job! Thank you Doc!

  • Feb 16, 2016 by allison powers

    Super friendly staff!

  • Feb 15, 2016 by Megan Schwind

    I've never had to wait to be seen, they're quick and efficient, and HONEST! I've been to three other dentists throughout my life, all telling me I needed cavities filled that I didn't have! I will never go anywhere else again

  • Jan 12, 2016 by Maureen Nibecker

    This is one of the most punctual medical offices I have been to. The staff is professional, helpful and efficent. And with the beautiful views out of this office, it makes it a joy to go.

  • Jan 05, 2016 by Jordan

    Great dentist!

  • Dec 30, 2015 by Vince Kitchens

    I've been coming to Dr. Bass for a few years now and I really love him. He is very friendly, very gentle, and he and his staff have a knack for remembering what's been going on in my life, even though I'm only in twice a year. Go see them!

  • Dec 15, 2015 by Brittney K.

    Dr. Bass was kind and helpful, and pleasant to interact with. He provided an in-depth consultation regarding a concern I had about my teeth, and offered a quick insight into the root cause.

  • Dec 03, 2015 by Erikka Mangan

    Dr. Bass is great! Very gentle and understanding of my reservations. Will be returning to him for all my future dental needs!

  • Nov 30, 2015 by Katelyn

    Dr. Bass was a very great dentist for me! He was very gentle and informed me of all of the steps he was performing during my session. He was also willing to answer several questions with no hesitation! Great dentist and I will definitely…

  • Nov 11, 2015 by C.C.

    Very nice staff and very clean office! Each dental chair looks out on to the beautiful hills of San Luis Obispo...a great alternative to a blank wall!

  • Nov 09, 2015 by Kristie Burch

    This was my first time having any work done. I had 6 fillings in one visit with Dr. Bass! He was excellent! Very gentle, and great bed side maner. I had a great experience for having such unpleasent work done. Thank you Dr. Bass and staff!

  • Nov 04, 2015 by Amber Wiehl

    I love the staff. The office is open & clean & relaxing. The view from your chair is amazing. Best dental care around. They're accommodating with appointments & with me bringing my well-behaved toddler.

  • Sep 23, 2015 by Evan H.

    Great staff! Beautiful office. Dr. Bass and his dental assistants explain what they are doing and or what needs to be done with un-biased opinions. Attention to detail is in the work and explanation.The receptionist worked with me to schedule appointments, which was extremely helpful. They rock! Would recommend to friends and family!

  • Jul 29, 2015 by AndyPatty McComb

    Kind, caring, patient, and welcoming staff. Dr. Bass explains all options and treatments in understandable language and is always gentle with a quiet sense of humor. The office has beautiful views and is exceptionally clean and modern. I fell like I am visiting old friends whenever I have an appointment, which takes the usual stress out of dental visits. I recommend him highly.

  • Jul 07, 2015 by Dylan J Harris

    A great dentist! I've seen him for years and have recently finished up all the dental work I needed. I can go confidently into the future, knowing I can trust the work of Dr. Darrell Bass. Highly recommended. Thanks for everything boss!

  • Jul 07, 2015 by Dylan H.

    Darrell Bass is a great dentist and I've always had a great experience. I've recently finished up all the work I needed before moving out of State and I can do so confidently, trusting in the quality of his dentistry. Highly recommended. Thanks again for everything boss!

  • Jan 19, 2015 by Ashlee B.

    Great, friendly dentist and staff. I've lived in SLO for 1.5 years now and my partner and I have been coming to Dr. Bass since we moved - so glad we found him so fast! We've found that good healthcare can be hard to find on the Central Coast. Definitely recommended!

  • Jan 12, 2015 by Rich H.

    From simple check-ups to crown work, Dr. Bass has been an excellent dentist for my wife and me. Friendly, well-organized staff. Enjoy the beautiful facility, all the high-tech gadgetry, and lovely views from your chair (if you're into such perks).

  • Nov 12, 2014 by Liz K.

    Receptionist, hygenist, and Dr. Bass were all amazing. Sweet, personable, professional, and CLEAN! very happy i found them. Think I'll stick around :)

  • Nov 06, 2014 by B C.

    Easiest time at the dentist here then any other office I've been to. Cool getting a crown done in one visit. I've never felt "sold up"

  • Aug 09, 2014 by Colleen H.

    Dr. Bass and his team are the best. I went to him because the reviews said that when his staff estimated the cost on a procedure, they were true and accurate. And, we have found that to be true. After going to another dentist in town and finding costs doubling and tripling, my husband finally switched to Dr. Bass and we both breathed a sigh of relief. They are great people, have a sparkling clean office and up to date equipment. You can trust this dentist.

  • Aug 05, 2014 by Carlie K.

    I was very pleased with the service and care I received at Dr. Bass' office. The staff is kind and competent and the care and facility was bar none. I am grateful to have found Dr. Bass for my family!

  • Jun 25, 2014 by Robert B.

    Incredible dentist. The office itself is simply amazing. While you're getting your teeth cleaned, you sit in a chair that faces a full-wall window that overlooks beautiful San Luis Obispo. Everyone is very professional and they use the most up-to-date instruments. Dr. Bass is, without a doubt, the coolest dentist I've ever talked to. He's hilarious, but beyond that, he's in practice for the right reasons:  he loves helping people. In front of me, there was an older woman that was a first-time patient. She was getting her teeth checked... and they found that she had previously received terrible dental work. Dr. Bass told her she was going to have to redo it all, and she nearly started crying because the initial work was so expensive. Without skipping a beat, he told her that he'd do it for a fifth of what the previous dentist had charged. He'd work with her insurance to get as much covered as possible. Dr. Bass is the man. Oh, and he looks like Mick Jagger. Seriously. It's hilarious.

  • Jun 12, 2014 by Mike T.

    Dr Bass and his staff are fantastic. Always proficient, got me in and out for a semi annual cleaning fast. And they were through, they cleaned my teeth thoroughly and painlessly. I was just in there this morning and I had clean teeth in 30 min. Moved to LA to work a year ago but live in SLO, probably won't get another dentist down there even if it's more convenient. There staff are always very friendly and professional. Highly recommend if you need any procedures done!

  • Apr 15, 2014 by Amber H.

    Dr. Bass is a very qualified dentist and nice man. The same can be said about his staff. It also doesn't hurt that they have a relaxing, spa-like, modern-style office.

  • Mar 31, 2014 by Mariko K.

    Dr. Bass's dental practice is probably my favorite that I have been to over the years. Instruments all look new and clean. The office is attractive, modern, and comfortable with large windows overlooking a beautiful view of San Luis Obispo. Parking is always available. Reception, hygienists, and doctor are all friendly, provide great service, and are knowledgeable and trustworthy. I've felt they have done a good job processing my billings with my insurance company to make sure I was getting the correct price. I also appreciate their email, text message, or phone call options for appointment reminders. I've never felt that they push cosmetic services although they let you know these options are available if you are interested. X-ray, cleaning, and check up with the doctor can be as quick as 30 minutes (while never feeling rushed). (I've gone for cleanings and had a permanent retainer removed and a removable retainer made.)

  • Feb 19, 2014 by Robbie S.

    GREAT dental professional.  Relaxing atmosphere and calming environment.  This is a dentist that cares about his patients and what they have to say. Office is super clean and modern.   His staff are attentive and personable.   I recommend this dental office. Good job Dr. Bass

  • Dec 17, 2013 by Sara M.

    Best Dentist ive ever seen. All my life ive gotten extremely bad anxiety at the dentist, and as silly as it sounds, for the first time in my life i dont get upset or cry when i see the dentist ( Dr Bass). Im so confortable there and everyone is so helpful. Its so nice to actually feel relaxed when i get fillings ( which are painless) and when ive gotten Cerek crowns in the same day. Amazing work too, ive never had an issue with any of their work. They let me know what im going to be billed/charged before i sit down which is nice to know. Courtney and Christy are the absolute best too! i will never go anywhere else.

  • Sep 11, 2013 by Paul G.

    Very odd place. Been there twice and while there is an air of "it's a nice place", the reality is Dr. Bass is a very cold fish. Was in there today and the 4 staff are all sitting around reading or eating (in reception!?), they all look up and not a word of greeting except from the receptionist who says "Are you NAME?", I replied "yes", then "sign in here". Sigh, OK. That was it. Hygienist who cleaned my teeth was excellent, then I go sit and wait for Dr. Bass, he comes in makes zero effort to actually come round and say hello and starts talking behind me while fiddling (so absolutely no greeting, no eye contact, nothing). Cursory exam (which was OK) and then as I am about to walk out back to reception he has the cheek to say "oh can you do me a favor and take this back to reception" and hands me my file, seriously??? Deeply, deeply unhappy with their customer service (and yes I do believe that is part of any business). Needless to say I did not book a third appointment.

  • Mar 29, 2013 by Kim P.

    Dr Bass and dental assistants were good, but front office lady is horrible.  She is just plain rude for no reason.  Takes 2 days to return phone calls during the work week.  Never follows through on things she says she is going to do.  Bills the wrong insurance company.  I will not be back because of her.  I am sure she has ran other customers off.  Dr Bass needs to replace her or his business will surely suffer.

  • May 14, 2012 by Teresa R.

    I found Dr. Bass to be very insensitive and somewhat pompous. I had been told by another Dentist that I needed a root canal, and it would be somewhat complex, needing an Endodontist. I went to Dr. Bass not only for a full check-up, but for a 2nd opinion about needing to have the root canal done by an Endodontist. I waited for an hour before getting to see him. He seemed rather annoyed because by the time he came into the room I had gotten a bad tickle in my throat and could not stop coughing. He did not go over any of my xrays to see if there were any other potential problems, and only said that I do need to see an Endodontist, and explained why, in a rather annoyed tone, then abruptly dismissed me and walked out of the room. This is exactly why I hate going to the Dentist. I'm surprised he gets such good reviews with this type of attitude.

  • Mar 23, 2012 by Mollye H.

    Wish I could leave negative stars. I had four crowns placed, all four had to be replaced within from 1 year to 3 years. My current dentist is appalled at the quality of work. The fit of the crowns was so poor that their were uneven gaps and ridges that allowed deterioration of the underlying tooth surface. It's discouraging to spend $4,000. on dental work only to have to pay it all over again in such a short period of time. My new dentist is meticulous, professional, and gentle.

  • Feb 27, 2012 by Tim

    “READ“ before u SIGN for new patients on $30 mouth screening for cancer. Insurance not covered

  • Feb 27, 2012 by Tim

    Nice guy, real professional. Only thing was got charged $30 for mouth screening for cancer which was not mention verbally for new patient.

  • Oct 19, 2011 by Moniqua P.

    You may not find a better dental practice in san luis obispo. I've tried 2 other dentists in this area and both were total nightmares. Expensive nightmares, at that. I get really bad anxiety when going to the dentist. I shake, I cry, I am just a big ol' baby. Every single person that works in this dental office are exceptionally gentle, compassionate, and just plain amazing! I informed everyone right away about how anxious I get from all my bad experiences at the dentist these last few years. Immediately they calmed me down and explained every single step they were about to do. I was still nervous, but it never got out of hand. No hyperventilating, minimal tearing  up in the eye at the sound of the drill, and a lot of painkillers. On top of all this, Chris, the main receptionist, is WONDERFUL! The absolute best thing about this practice is that before you agree to a procedure, they make absolute certain you know how much you are expecting to pay after your insurance takes care of their part. I've never seen such a thing! They are excellent at making sure their patients are well informed. Such detail and communication... it's something I never expected from a dental practice. The technology at this practice is also amazing! Prophy-Jet water cleaning or the traditional pick cleaning, a special light to see if you have any cavities, and an in-house CNC milling machine that will create your crown on site in less than 15 minutes! No temporary crowns. I had to get a partial crown for a tooth that had recently been worked on. For this visit, I had 2 fillings and a partial crown done and perfected in 1.5 hours. They take Delta Dental PPO. If you have that, and are considering going here, do it! Do it! Make the appointment now. This place is the best.

  • Jul 26, 2011 by Cynthia S.

    I was in the town of San Luis Obispo last month visiting an elderly aunt when i cracked my crown..so i googled dentists in the area and found Dr Bass's website..very impressive website and i have to admit he was handsome ..so i looked thru the website and saw there was a radio interview ...after i heard his voice and read thru the website i decided to call the office.. they took me the next day..long story short he did a one day crown which I wasnt familiar with but after he explained in detail what was involved i had him do the procedure...his manner was comforting and sympathetic and understanding..especially when i asked a lot of questions..another tooth had been giving me some discomfort so i had a filling done also the same day..His office was beautifully decorated and the office staff very accommodating.. I would highly  recommend this dentist.

  • Jul 22, 2011 by Christian H.

    Great first experience! Friendly staff, peaceful environment, great technology. Recommend!

  • Apr 17, 2011 by sabrina m.

    They said it couldn't be done....I had not been to a dentist in a long while so once I was settled, I began hunting for a dentist. Dr. Bass was one of the first that I came across with good reviews (according to the city folk of SLO there are a lot of BAD dentists). Let me tell you I was not disappointed. I had signed up my husband and 2 boys to also have check-ups, I was grateful he does both adults and children. All of them had a great visit with no major cavities, my husband was fearful that he would. I on the other hand had 10, yes, you read right 10 cavities! Dr. Bass was extremely sympathetic unlike other dentists who would end up with a lecture. We set a time to get them all done. Everyone said to me I was either into pain or crazy to have that many fillings taken care of at once. I stuck to my guns and I am glad I did! The whole procedure from walking into to the door and out again was 1 hour and 45 minutes! Dr. Bass was super careful with the novocain so I genuinely did not feel a thing, did I mention my phobia of needles? He then with an assistant started to tackle my cavities once he was certain I could not feel anything. I have tried a tooth extraction with too little novocain and the dentist did not believe me that I was in pain! He was very efficient and flexible to take pauses for me to either spit or swallow, he never tried to rush me. When I had left I had a mild headache from dehydration, a glass of water later and I was fine. Since that time, 2 months ago, I have had no problems, side affects or needing to go back. My teeth look great, they give porcelain crowns instead of silver and the best part of all was the price. We have dental insurance but usually they do not cover much if anything at all. With very little out of pocket expense, a great experience and a lovely smile I can only strongly, no ecstatically recommend Dr. Bass. I only hope that we do not move anytime soon so that we can use him for a long time to come!

  • Apr 04, 2011 by Veronica T.

    This is a way overdue review... being new to SLO I looked around and searched for a long time for the right dentist. I finally stumbled upon Dr. Bass' page online (I really only trust businesses with a legit website nowadays) and I was immediately impressed. I've been to many dentists both in CA and NY and non compare to the care, detail and high standards that this office (more like a dental spa) has to offer. I had an initial consultation and cleaning, which I was able to book in a week after I called (most places were not able to accommodate me for at least a month). Upon arriving the lovely front desk lady greets you and with a warm and welcoming attitude. After completing the necessary paperwork, I was escorted to a room where an excellent hygienist began to work on my teeth.  She took her time and walked me through the entire process. She paid attention to all the small details and worked on my teeth until I was satisfied with the results. I thought i was done! But NO... Dr. Bass took over after the hygienist cleaned my teeth and proceeded to examine and test my teeth for everything known to man! He used some awesome state of the art equipment that checks enamel, for cavities, gum diseases, and a ton of other things. He tested for cavities three times to ensure that the readings are accurate. In all, I believe that I was there about 1.5 hours getting my teeth cleaned, checked, and tested.  I have never walked out of a dental office feeling more confident that my teeth are healthy and that all my brushing and flossing at home has paid off. :)   The entire office is equipped with state of the art technology, comfortable (spa-like) furniture and a soothing warm decor.  If that isn't enough, the rooms face a beautiful mountain view of SLO. Way to raise the bar, Dr. Bass! Thanks for the excellent work and dedication - I will ONLY go to this office from now for all my dental needs. OH, I did not have dental insurance at the time and the price was dirt cheap!!!! His office even gave me a "no-insurance" discount. Awesome on all levels!!!!

  • Mar 19, 2011 by Coleman H.

    Dr. Bass was AWESOME. He fit me in on a tight schedule and I'm very happy with his work. His new facilities were top-notch, and he had equipment in there that saved me waiting 2 weeks for a custom mold, having my crown cut with a lathe in a matter of minutes! I definitely plan on going with Dr. Bass for any future dental work I might need.

  • Mar 18, 2011 by Veronica A.

    I hadn't bee to the dentist for years and was pretty freaked out about my visit. Dr. Bass was amazing and the staff were so great. Everyone was so friendly and wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Bass.

  • Feb 15, 2011 by Dany B.

    Great guy and awesome dentist! I never thought I would say this but Dr Bass makes going to the dentist enjoyable. I was traumatized at an early stage and get anxiety anytime I set foot in a dentist office. Dr. Bass made me feel at ease and was extremely gentle with every procedure he performed. He did a good job of letting me know what he was doing as he went along. His staff is great as well!

  • Dec 28, 2010 by Jeff B.

    I had heard from people around town that Dr. Bass was the best. I had an emergency and Dr. Bass' office was amazing. They got me in on short notice, helped me by setting up an appointment with an oral surgeon all in one day! Unbelievably helpful and the nicest people. His office is cutting edge and high tech, Dr. Bass was thorough,  explained everything and showed genuine concern for my problem. They do digital X-rays (90% less radiation then standard), 3D scanning and they have a computer driven mill to do caps right in the office while you wait! The technology is unbelievable! Dr. Bass was able to show me how he made a "perfect" cap that fit like a glove. The staff is so nice and helpful and they bent over to help me and that is rare these days! If you are looking for a dentist you are crazy if you don't try Dr. Bass. First time I felt like a dentist cared in 20 years...

  • Dec 07, 2010 by Nicole B.

    Today was my first time going to Dr. Bass and it was a great experience.  They have a brand new office with lots of high tech equipment and when you sit in the chair you have huge windows to look out at the view of the peaks.   Dr. Bass was really friendly and was very detailed in describing and showing pictures of what was going on with my teeth.  Also a very gentle cleaning!

  • Dec 01, 2010 by Adam L.

    Dr. Bass was awesome! I was in San Luis Obispo for a friend's wedding and had a dental emergency. He was so kind to take me in as a patient with a full day already booked. He had the best bedside manner: gentle, explained what he was doing, was even interested in me as a person and seemed genuinely excited to help me feel better. He didn't rush me out of the office when my treatment was done, or treat me like an idiot because I didn't understand the procedure. I wish I lived in town so that Dr. Bass could be my permanent dentist, because it is so hard to find a doctor that I trust. I have also always been afraid to go the dentist, but Dr. Bass assuaged all of my fears. I also hear he has a beautiful new office, so I recommend to everyone to choose Dr. B as their dentist.

  • Jun 23, 2009 by Jennifer S.

    I have to say that this was a great experience. I went in for x rays and a routine check up and I was in and out of there in a little over an hour. He is very gentle and has some different methods of cleaning your teeth.  I really liked the "power washing".  It cleaned in between all the teeth and I had hardly any pain. I would recommend him to everyone.

  • Jun 04, 2009 by CaliMae L.

    This was my second visit to Dr. Bass and it was wonderful.  He and his staff are very friendly and helpful.  It is really easy to get an appointment and he does evenings and weekends if needed. The interior is very modern and he has a very high-tech practice (digital x-rays, new cleaning system).  So far everything has been covered by my insurance so I haven't had to pay anything. I also appreciate how he explains everything and really takes the time to make sure you understand and have no questions.  I also found him to be honest and trust him. I have recommended Dr. Bass to my family and friends, who like him as well!

  • Jun 03, 2009 by James B.

    Since I was a child I've been a little afraid of going to the dentist. Dr. Bass was so gentle and personable I actually enjoyed the experience. His staff is so friendly and knowledgeable it blew me away, plus the office facility feels like a relaxing visit to a spa. I would 100% recommend Dr. Bass to my closest family and friends. I thought his website was helpful too. DarrellBassDDS.com

  • Mar 26, 2009 by Alph G.

    Dr. Bass is awesome.  He's high-tech but his prices are still totally reasonable.  I was told I would need braces and some other horribly expensive things but Dr. Bass solved a large part of the problem doing a procedure that took 20 minutes.  (so I'm a little annoyed at all of my previous dentists who said I would need braces but that's neither here nor there). He went to Case Western to get his degree.  His secretary is also super-friendly.  And...he has evening hours!  You have to wait a bit to get them but I can't get off work during the day so I was real happy with that. His office is a little hard to find (easy to pass) but besides that I have no complaints. Thumbs up!