AXIS Chiropractic

AXIS Chiropractic

1965 Santa Barbara Avenue
San Luis Obispo CA 93401
805-550-2144

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Facebook
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Nov 20, 2019 by Ryan Heath

    My wife and I have been patients at AXIS for many years, and it has been a tremendous benefit to our health. Their focus on minor adjustments to the atlas to allow the body to heal itself, naturally, makes so much sense. I used to suffer from migraines and sinus issues that seem like a distant memory now. Recovering from a cold used to feel like forever, but our immune systems are so much stronger at this point that minor illnesses barely slow us down. The space is warm, inviting and friendly. We love the open adjustment model, and could not be happier with our treatment. Do you and your family a favor and book a consultation as soon as possible.

  • Feb 15, 2019 by Garrett Philbin

    **This review is a doozy in length, but if you have a few minutes to read, it’s my honest experience and could make a difference for you**

    I’m not one to give myself to hyperbole often, but the results I’ve been able to get by going to Axis, and the impact it’s had on my quality of life, is FREAKING AWESOME!! :)

    Quick backstory - for over seven years I haven’t been able to sit down for more than a few minutes without my legs starting to go cold. While the coldness was annoying, the worst part was actually what would happen for days after - if I sat down for more than about 90 minutes over the course of an entire day, my legs would both ache and experience muscle weakness over the following 2-3 days. Even worse was that if I sat down at all during those 2-3 days of symptoms, it would continue them and I wouldn’t have a chance to heal and get back to my ‘normal’.

    Needless to say, for someone who was in his late 20’s, in good health otherwise, and who loved being active, this sucked. The only good thing was that I got to be a trailblazer of that #standingdesklife (out of necessity).

    At various points throughout these 7 years there were some challenging times - periods where even when I would lie down, which usually took away the symptoms - wouldn’t make it better. It made me think: if I’m not even 30, and can’t sit for more than an hour or two, what the hell am I going to do when I’m 50? 60? 70? Needless to say that was not a comforting place for my mind to go.

    In the past I’ve tried traditional chiropractic, physical therapy, yoga, went to a neurologist, spine doctor…but no-one really had any answers, and none of the active treatment brought me more than temporary relief.

    So, I decide to give Axis a try because they focus on Structural Chiropractic, which means they take the whole body into account when correcting, not just the area where the symptoms occur. It makes sense to me. I’ve been going for three months now and it’s freaking incredible. It takes an hour or so for the cold in my legs TO EVEN START, and (I’m almost hesitant to say this unless I jinx it) I no longer have any noticeable muscle weakness or aching the days after I sit. For someone who has been dealing with this issue, one that I’ve been searching for relief from and an answer to for seven years, this is a BIG EFFING DEAL!

    I could talk about Stephen’s bedside manner (which is great), how nice the office is (it’s delightful) and how smooth the experience of everything is (like butter), but at the end of the day all that matters is how I feel. And how I feel is GLORIOUS!! It’s not perfect - I’m not magically cured of all back ills. But the nerve pain and aching and weakness is no longer something that is constantly on my mind, day in and day out, and that is damn near a miracle.

  • Feb 10, 2019 by Garrett P.

    **This review is a doozy in length, but if you have a few minutes to read, it's my honest experience and could make a difference for you** I'm not one to give myself to hyperbole often, but the results I've been able to get by going to Axis, and the impact it's had on my quality of life, is FREAKING AWESOME!! :) Quick backstory - for over seven years I haven't been able to sit down for more than a few minutes without my legs starting to go cold. While the coldness was annoying, the worst part was actually what would happen for days after - if I sat down for more than about 90 minutes over the course of an entire day, my legs would both ache and experience muscle weakness over the following 2-3 days. Even worse was that if I sat down at all during those 2-3 days of symptoms, it would continue them and I wouldn't have a chance to heal and get back to my 'normal'. Needless to say, for someone who was in his late 20's, in good health otherwise, and who loved being active, this sucked. The only good thing was that I got to be a trailblazer of that #standingdesklife (out of necessity). At various points throughout these 7 years there were some challenging times - periods where even when I would lie down, which usually took away the symptoms - wouldn't make it better. It made me think: if I'm not even 30, and can't sit for more than an hour or two, what the hell am I going to do when I'm 50? 60? 70? Needless to say that was not a comforting place for my mind to go. In the past I've tried traditional chiropractic, physical therapy, yoga, went to a neurologist, spine doctor...but no-one really had any answers, and none of the active treatment brought me more than temporary relief. So, I decide to give Axis a try because they focus on Structural Chiropractic, which means they take the whole body into account when correcting, not just the area where the symptoms occur. It makes sense to me. I've been going for three months now and it's freaking incredible. It takes an hour or so for the cold in my legs TO EVEN START, and (I'm almost hesitant to say this unless I jinx it) I no longer have any noticeable muscle weakness or aching the days after I sit. For someone who has been dealing with this issue, one that I've been searching for relief from and an answer to for seven years, this is a BIG EFFING DEAL! I could talk about Stephen's bedside manner (which is great), how nice the office is (it's delightful) and how smooth the experience of everything is (like butter), but at the end of the day all that matters is how I feel. And how I feel is GLORIOUS!! It's not perfect - I'm not magically cured of all back ills. But the nerve pain and aching and weakness is no longer something that is constantly on my mind, day in and day out, and that is damn near a miracle. (not hyperbole) If you're skeptical of chiropractic as a first-timer, or have been to a traditional chiropractor and not had results, give Axis a shot. There's obviously no guarantee they'll be able to have as amazing as results with you as they did with me, but take it from me - it's worth a shot.

  • Nov 28, 2018 by Beau W.

    Dr. Stephen is by far the best chiropractor I've ever been to. I highly recommend him to anyone

  • Oct 30, 2016 by Cheryl B.

    I am always anxious to learn more about health and wellness.  Dr. Stephen and Dr. Ashley are as excited to teach about health and wellness.  I have recently had my initial consultation at Axis Chiropractic.  They have made the process an enjoyable and educational opportunity for me to learn more about my health and how I can realize an even better quality of health.  I am confident that I will be experiencing more energy and vibrancy in order to live and give to my fullest.  Thank you Dr. Stephen and Dr. Ashley for giving me the anticipation of consistent good healthy.

  • Sep 07, 2016 by Alex M.

    It's so refreshing to see a chiro that takes the whole picture into perspective. They are nice, educational, they don't talk down to you, and they are in it to help. I would recommend trying them out, for sure.

  • Aug 19, 2016 by Jane Kostiw

    Stephen and Ashley take time to make sure you are receiving the treatment you need. I just love the way they take care of all their patients. So many positive results! Go Axis!!

  • Jul 01, 2016 by Ryan Maxwell

    Stephen and Ashley are amazing. After suffering from back pain for over a decade, their treatment has me pain free and it is an incredible feeling. Axis is a game changer!
    Thank you!

  • Jun 23, 2016 by Anthony R.

    The no appointment model works great for our family.  My wife gets to pop in whenever she has a free minute.  My daughter loves the play room and all of the toys.  Axis really is a no brainer.

  • Mar 02, 2016 by Gina C.

    The beginning of the year my neck was so out of alignment I was in excruciating pain. I met with Axis for an analysis and to set-up a plan of action to get myself back into proper alignment. Within two weeks I noticed a huge difference. With every adjustment I feel myself slowly getting back to my normal self. Not only is the pain gone but I feel more clear and focused. Ashley and Stephen are very professional and also incredibly personable. I have absolute confidence knowing when I go in for an adjustment that I'm on the right path to proper health. Thank you so much!

  • Mar 01, 2016 by I Forgot

    The no appointment model works great for our family. My wife gets to pop in whenever she has a free minute. My daughter loves the play room and all of the toys. Axis really is a no brainer.

  • Jan 15, 2016 by Eric A.

    Ashley and Stephen have been taking care of me for over a year and Axis has a very good family feel to it. I am always happy to see them and get work done. Thanks for the Balance!

  • Jul 28, 2015 by Susan Rodriguez

    I have been a member of Axis Chiropractic for over a year now. I LOVE how you can drop in without an appointment and go as often as you need every month. They are always so warm and welcoming and really make you feel like you are part of their family.

  • Apr 28, 2015 by David P.

    Another great day under AXIS care. Lower back tight once again from pushing the desk and missing the gym today. Thanks a bunch Ashley & Stephen Lower back very tight for several days. To many long hours pushing the desk at work. Second day in the row Stephen has adjusted me and I'm feeling better with each treatment. I'm hopeful to get several more adjustments while I'm in town. Life is good when I'm in the care of New Thought Chiropractic. Lower back very tight for several days. To many long hours pushing the desk at work. Second day in the row Stephen has adjusted me and I'm feeling better with each treatment. I'm hopeful to get several more adjustments while I'm in town. Life is good when I'm in the care of New Thought Chiropractic.

  • Oct 22, 2014 by Natasha P.

    If you think you've given chiropractors a try and haven't seen the results you're looking for, then you haven't experience care under Drs. Gorshack. The way they run their business allows you to put your health in front of your wallet. I have been going to AXIS for about a year and a half now, and I'm impressed at the overall improvement of my health. They even helped me get rid of a lingering migraine within minutes of my adjustment and helped keep my TMJ Disorder in check. AXIS rocks!

  • Jul 25, 2014 by Susan M.

    Best health care option in San Luis Obispo County. Learned more about my body speaking with Dr. Stephen in 30 minutes then what I've learned over 20 years. Dr. Stephen and Dr. Ashley really care about their patients and getting them at their full potential. Ive already been adjusted once and can feel the difference and see the difference. Their doctor's office was spectacular. Two people who truly care and are passionate about what they practice. They are all about fixing the source not just putting a band-aid on it. All doctors should be at their standards. Worth every penny! Highly recommend to everyone! I wish I knew about them years ago!

  • Jan 16, 2014 by Emily R.

    I cannot say enough good things about New Thought Chiropractic.  I have suffered from hip pain for over twenty years due to two different hip-related accidents.  Within weeks of seeing New Thought, I am pain free.  Their approach is logical and effective.  The price is reasonable.  I pay $100 a month and can go in as many times as I like, as opposed to other chiropractic offices where a single visit costs at least $80.  I have sent several friends and family members to them and they have been just as happy.

  • Dec 03, 2013 by S H.

    Went in on the advice of a friend.  Go through a 30 minute sales pitch, then a 30 minute evaluation that costs $175 dollars(this does not include an adjustment).  Come back the next day to get adjusted and find that I have to either commit to a 1 year contract at $100 bucks a month or a four month contract at a cost of $750 dollars.  So it cost me almost 200 bucks to find out that I didnt want to commit to around $1000 dollars worth of care.  Go somewhere else.

  • Sep 17, 2013 by Laura R.

    My daughter and I just started coming here, and honestly I feel so much better since I have been under their care. The first time I was adjusted  it was like having bad eye sight, and for the first time  seeing though a new pair of glasses. I felt so good and continue to feel really awesome. I have more energy, I sleep better, so I don't feel tired all the time, and my general outlook just seems to be brighter. My daughter is going and just by one visit woke up feeling more relief for her allergies today. Yeah, this place is amazing. Also, Dr. Stephen and Dr. Ashley are truly wonderful and delightful people to meet and be around. Everyone should check this place out!