At Bites

At Bites

195 North Santa Rosa Street
San Luis Obispo CA 93405
805-909-9909

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Google Places
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Sep 20, 2020 by Cheryl Haines

    Excellent fresh food! Great Pho. Chicken dishes were great too. My sons ate dinner there a second time and had the viet pork chop, excellent!!!

  • Sep 20, 2020 by mel dacquel

    Pretty good Vietnamese restaurant. I ordered the Original Bahn Mi, fire shrimp and shrimp spring roll with a vietnamese coffee. The bahn mi wasn't that impressive but I did like the bread. The fire shrimp was on fire. Very flavorful and good size shrimp. I would go back just for this dish. The shrimp spring roll was good also but I felt robbed because the shrimp they put in there was halfed. The spring roll also felt pre-made and was sitting there waiting for someone to order it. I've had it like that before but how it was made felt hollow. Like it wasn't stuffed enough to be more solid. Other than that it was a good.

  • Sep 13, 2020 by Fred Feng

    Beef pho $12.29
    Beef kebob $15.85

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Alan Klapper

    Food was really good.The place is clean. The service was great. I ordered the wrong sandwich and they replaced it no problem. We had the barbecue ribs the beef boahn mi sandwich and a grilled chicken. I'll be back. Sorry one sec go ahead

  • Aug 30, 2020 by leah goldman

    Really good, really fresh, really great bang for your buck!! Got the pork Bah Mi Sandwich and it was AMAzing. The bread seemed fresh baked and the veggies were super fresh. It was only $6 and some change?!! I’ll be back.

  • Aug 24, 2020 by Lorde Grande

    Plating is good. The pho is on the bland side and is missing the rich brothy taste you usually get

  • Aug 09, 2020 by Vashanti Li

    Nice service. Beautifully designed.

    Pho is just ok. Little too sweet for me. Its way overpriced $13 for a medium equivalent bowl that you would pay $9 for in the bay area.

  • Jul 29, 2020 by G. Vincent Voltaire

    The first time, I was curious. The second time, I was amazed, and third time I visited would be the test. I ordered the Salmon, and I was surprised by the perfect texture, just the way I liked it....
    Absolutely delicious.

  • Jul 26, 2020 by Michele Rempel

    Outstanding. So happy to have this restaurant here in town. Fresh, quick service, and delicious. We will be back. Ate on the spacious patio and enjoyed every bite.

  • Jul 18, 2020 by Ian McNicol

    Try this place out! Very good food and service. Everything I've tried has been great. Pho, beef kababs and garlic shrimp

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Nooshin S.

    I tried Oregano grilled chicken and the hot one ( can't remember the name), both were delicious. I'll definitely come back.

  • Jul 11, 2020 by Chelsea Malcolm

    Great food and friendly service. The Veggie Pho is wonderful and the Shrimp Bahn Mi is pretty good. I had it twice, but it was different each time. The patio is nice and spacious with a nice view of Bishops Peak and Madonna. We have gone several times. Definitely recommend trying it.

  • Jul 09, 2020 by Lauren N.

    This place is incredible!!! We got a banh mi and pho and it was so so so good! So happy to have good Vietnamese food in slo! The service was so fast and friendly and the restaurant is very modern and clean. I really hope this place does well so we can enjoy good authentic Vietnamese food for years to come!

  • Jul 08, 2020 by Scott Benz

    This food is actually amazing, with a nice presentation and amazing flavor to back it up. Smart and friendly workers with an efficient online ordering system, I am going to be eating @bites a lot!

  • Jul 06, 2020 by Sorina Andra Ratchford

    First time here and we will be back. Loved the Shaking Beef, very tender and juicy. The Bahn Mi was good, not sure if better than Lotus but solid option. They were very nice and served us complimentary potato soup which was yummy.

  • Jul 02, 2020 by Maylene S.

    Excellent meal for a great value, and a welcome addition to SLO's food scene. This place is definitely worth a try!! We ordered an original bahn mi, beef bahn mi, and beef spring rolls. We ordered over the phone and the staff was super accommodating. We're immunocompromised and not comfortable picking up inside, so someone happily came out to our car. A+ service. The bahn mi weren't like OC Little Saigon, hole-in-the-wall authentic, and we weren't expecting them to be. First of all, the sandwich was served on a roll rather than French baguette, but the bread was still high quality for what it was. Second, it was pretty light on the veggies. It could've had double the amount of veggies and been perfect, but it was a bit thin. Not on the meat though--they gave plenty of meat. However, the flavor was the shining light; the pate was perfect and when combined with the cilantro, carrots and jalapeño, reminded me of the super authentic bahn mi I've had. Though the sandwiches weren't totally authentic in the other aspects (again, didn't expect them to be), this is way closer than I could've hoped for from little old SLO. Delicious and finished them in like 10 minutes. Will ask for extra veggies next time. THE ROLLS THO! Ordered them because of multiple reviews recommending them, and they totally exceeded our expectations. It was a symphony of flavors I can't describe--just go try. If you love minty, fresh, crunchy goodness, these are IT. These are better than most rolls I'd get at a pho place in a big city. Overall, this is totally worth a try. I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could, but since I can't I'll give it a 5 because it's a new place that opened during the pandemic and it deserves support. Definitely going back to try more dishes.

  • Jul 01, 2020 by Ava Lepe

    Great new restaurant! The shrimp spring rolls were delicious! Great prices and VERY friendly workers :)

  • Jul 01, 2020 by Joseph E.

    This place kinda defies description. It's billed as Viet cuisine, but they've got bao buns, (a very American seeming) roast chicken with mashed potatoes and veggies, avocado smoothies, Thai iced tea, salted apricot lemonade, pho...  I feel like they just googled for the 30 most popular semi-fast food dishes and put them all on one menu. I feel like I could walk in here, no matter what I was hungry for, and come out quite satisfied. The music selection was a similar olio. During our meal, we got to listen to: some electronic hip-hop song, then Jessie's Girl by Rick Springfield, then Gold Dust Woman by Fleetwood Mac, then Joline by Dolly Parton. Just all over the map. I has the pho, which was as good as I've had anywhere else, and the girlfriend had the roast chicken, which she said was so good, it could be served at Ember. Dining area was very clean and modern, and the food came up very quickly. We're excited to come back and try every single thing on the menu. Stay crazy, @Bites!

  • Jun 29, 2020 by camilla

    Had the lamb with vegetables. It was the best I have ever had! I will definitely order it again. Also ordered the beef Pho and it was outstanding.

  • Jun 28, 2020 by Madison B.

    Super excited this place finally opened! Decided to have dinner here and everything just looks REALLY good. I got the veggie pho, veggie spring rolls while my friend got the veggie egg rolls. Everything was very fresh and the price isn't outrageous for good quality food. Only problems was that they ended up giving my vegan friend beef egg rolls which we blew off because everything else was just so yummy!

  • Jun 28, 2020 by Jimmy P.

    Waited until my 3rd times of dinning here to leave a review. Beef pho is nicely aromatic, broth is a little light, but I appreciate that it wasn't overly salty, I added the hoisin sauce that came with it and it was perfect. My wife and I both enjoy the shrimp spring rolls, but the beef rolls is definitely a must try !! Thank you @bites for the delicious food. The restaurant is clean and modern. The staff is very friendly, especially the young man that took our order !

  • Jun 26, 2020 by Thanh Tho L.

    Was in town with my friend Tara, to tour CAL POLY my 1st choice after 4 years. BOOM! BEST. PHO. EVER. Wow. Ok so I didn't even have to wait more than 5 minutes after ordering my food for everything to come out AND it was all still so fresh and delicious! If it wasn't so out of my way, I'd come here a lot more often. Will be back guys! Keep up the good food haha.

  • Jun 26, 2020 by Charles L.

    A fusion of the Western fast-casual and Vietnamese cuisine is something that I have been waiting for while coming up here. You would rarely order food that wasn't in the name of the restaurant or the restaurant specialized in it. So you could say I was a bit skeptical about ordering pho here. To my surprise, the beef pho tasted amazing and fresh. The smell of the spices and the flavor from the broth got me hooked. The service was quick and friendly. I even ordered some bomb-AF drinks for the road. So if you ever travel through SLO or currently living there stop by and take a sip, feel just how I be (it's lit!)

  • Jun 26, 2020 by Ki N.

    Clean and spacious restaurant. Chicken dish is generous portion and the sauce is yummy . I also order shrimp spring rolls and beef spring rolls, but devoured it before I could snap a picture. Definitely will be coming back for their banh mi and fresh juice !

  • Jun 25, 2020 by Mitchell W.

    The new place in town: @bites is a great restaurant with great food to offer. I tried the spring roll and the veggie pho, and it tasted great!

  • Jun 24, 2020 by Cassie H.

    So excited for a new pho spot in SLO as all current spots are a little over mediocre at best. Tried the chicken pho and the veggie pho for the first time and was very surprised! Fresh ingredients and great broth! Such a cute vibe and super spacious with so many options. I think once everything gets more organized this is going to be such a great spot for students and families!

  • Jun 24, 2020 by P R.

    I was REALLY hoping this place would be good. Can we please get some good Asian food in SLO? 20-year resident (originally from LA) leaving a review here: Pho: broth was unimpressive. noodles skimpy. side veggies fresh. Customer service: unorganized and got our order wrong, twice. Banh mi: not good. SLO PHO SHO is a bit better. Will go there instead to feed my cravings (since Boba Stop is next door and a bonus).

  • Jun 23, 2020 by Joe Boche

    I’ve been anticipating the opening and I was not disappointed. The food was great! I tried a bunch of different stuff today and I’ve enjoyed all of it. The people were super friendly and made sure they did whatever they could to provide a great experience. It’s all priced well, and I have no complaints. I’ll be back soon! :)

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Christian G.

    A great addition to SLO! We've been in desperate need of a good Vietnamese restaurant as the current options are limited and subpar. @bites is very clean, modern, and has a broad menu with additional items labeled as "coming soon." I noticed their plan for a juice/coffee bar; excited to see that open up in the future! Their prices are pretty average for SLO but can be considered a little pricier when compared to other pho places in other cities. For their portion sizes, I would say it's a pretty acceptable deal. Their ingredients were fresh. I ordered the beef pho to go and was very pleased to see that they packaged the broth separately from all the other ingredients! They even individually packaged the thinly sliced raw beef which I was VERY appreciative of and I hope they keep doing for the future! They even give you a nice little disposable classic pho soup spoon! The beef pho came with lots of meat including brisket, rare beef, and meatballs. I was a little bummed out that they didn't have an option for tripe and tendon as this is what I enjoy MOST in authentic beef pho, but I figure they either have difficulty sourcing those ingredients or they don't think the majority of the local demographic would opt to order those choices! I hope they are able to add these ingredients in the future as options! No place in slo or the surrounding cities currently has these options and they would set themselves apart if they added them to the menu! I will say the broth could've been a little clearer/less cloudy, and it needed a bit more salt and beef bone flavor. I'm not holding it against them though as this was their first day open. I am sure the broth will get better with time as they learn from experience and their customer feedback. I plan on coming back in the future to see if they have improved their broth! I also plan on trying out a few of their other items on the menu and plan to update this review!

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Tyler W.

    Great food but even better staff!! All the employees went out of there was to ensure we were enjoying our meals! I got the chicken Pho. It was really good and thankful not over salted unlike other places in SLO. I would absolutely recommend this place. I will definitely be back!

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Goblin Dog X.

    As soon as I saw that they have unique Asian fusion, I was sold. I was honestly quite stoked since their soft opening date and finally stopped by today to try this place out. Really glad I did! The establishment itself is quite big, very chic and clean. Good hunger/ crave fix for busy on the go people. The quality of food and service was 10/10 so I hope it gets busier for them during lunch/dinner down the road. They get 5 stars already for perfectly, crispy fried chicken and crusty banh mi. I'm actually sitting in my car right now enjoying this banh mi with crumbs all over me but who cares! They have a big, creative menu as well. Everything is so super affordable and looks very yummy. Friendly service, obviously a new establishment so the staff is still in the works but it's good nonetheless. The lady who assisted me was really cute and helpful, her name was Phuong. I gave her a nice tip. Cute gal. Did I mention their banh mi sandwich is well stuffed and fried chicken is perfectly crispy? .... Before I forget, their sandwich and chicken are really really delicious!! I'll be back to try the other choices. Pho looks really impressive, might grab that next time.